Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 3: Moral Philosophy

Topics

Abortion

'Just' wars

Human Cloning (Therapeutic and Reproductive)

Philosophy Websites

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. 

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Library Catalogue

 

'Points of View' Databases & Websites

Points of View Reference  Centre
A subscription database which provides students with a series of essays that present both sides of a current issue.It includes critical analysis, a broad range of topics and a balance of materials from all viewpoints.It's fantastic!


Echo Contemporary Media Issues Online: Another subscription database from the Melbourne Age, which provides students with an overview and multiple sides of current Australian issues.  It needs the logins 'bbc' and 'kensington'. Click on 'Information, Demonstrations and Tutorials', then 'Media Issues'. PLEASE USE FIREFOX OR CHROME WITH THIS DATABASE - INTERNET EXPLORER DOESN'T LIKE IT!

Debatabase
The BEST 'for and against' free website available!  Contains persuasive arguments both for and against the issues of abortion and human cloning

Abortion

Human Cloning

 

ProCon.org

Another excellent 'for and against' website on major issues such as abortion. It's American, but many of the arguments remain the same.

Abortion

 JSTOR (database)- Excellent articles for 'Just War' or 'Morality of War'

Newspaper & Journal Databases

 

Suggested Academic Websites

Just War

Search created by narrowing to educational sites eg .edu

Google Books (Many books provide an excellent preview)