Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 3: USA 1917-1945 (IA2)

• San Jose State University: Causes of the Great Depression

• California State University: Causes of the Great Depression

• Business Insider: The main causes of the Great Depression, and how the road to recovery transformed the US economy

• Thought.co: Top 5 Causes of the Great Depression

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Doug Casey's International Man: Babson's warning

• Cumberland County School: 5 Causes of the Great Depression

• Washington State University: Everyday Life During the Great Depression

• Washington State University: Economics and Poverty

• Washington State University: Culture and Arts During the Great Depression

• Digital History: Children and the Great Depression

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Protest songs about the Great Depression
  Songs and their lyrics, including the iconic 'Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?', made famous by Bing Crosby.

• PRIMARY SOURCES: The Pen and the Pad: Famous Poems of the Depression

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Pantoum (Poem) of the Great Depression, by Donald Justice

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Breadline, by Florence Converse
  Another poem of the Great Depression.

• The Impact of the Great Depression on Early Modernism
  Includes the famous cartoon “October 29 Dies Irae” (Latin for 'Day of Wrath') about the Stock Market Crash, as well as an analysis of the iconic 1936 'Migrant Mother' photograph, and a link to the gospel song  'Everybody Needs a Prayer', which expresses the hopes and concerns of a troubled nation.

• PRIMARY SOURCES: A Social History for Every Classroom: The Great Depression and WWII

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Virginia Commonwealth Libraries: The Great Depression

• History.com: Dust Bowl

• University of Nebraska: The Dust Bowl

• West Texas University: Dust Bowl

• How Stuff Works: What Caused the Dust Bowl

• Iowa Government: Great Depression and Dust Bowl

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Woody Guthrie's Dust Bowl Ballads

  Look up the lyrics for these songs.

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Letter from a Dust Bowl survivor

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Newport University LibGuides - Dust Bowl and Migration

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Library of Congress - Dust Bowl

• PRIMARY SOURCES: California University - Dust Bowl Migration ArchivesThe Enduring Impact of the American Dust Bowl

• Library of Congress: Dorothea Lange's "Migrant Mother" Photographs in the Farm Security Administration Collection

Women and Families

• Encyclopedia.com: Women - Impact of the Great Depression

• Santa Rosa Junior College: Women in the 1930s and 1940s

African Americans

• The Living New Deal: African Americans

• Socialist Worker: Blacks and the Great Depression

• Amistad Digital Resource: African Americans in the Great Depression

• Digital History: African Americans and the New Deal

• PRIMARY SOURCES - Library of Congress: Race relations in the 1930s and 1940s

• Khan Academy: The New Deal

• History.com: Did New Deal Programs Help End the Great Depression?

• Cato Institute: Fresh Debate About FDR's New Deal

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Baylor University - Cartoons about the New Deal

• PRIMARY SOURCES: History on the Net - Reception to the New Deal

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Library of Congress: Cartoons about the New Deal

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Digital Public Library of America
  Includes photographs, speeches, letters, and oral histories.

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Docs Teach: The New Deal - Revolution or Reform?

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Docs Teach: Where was the New Deal?
  Discusses these programs: the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), and Works Progress Administration (WPA)

• PRIMARY SOURCE: History Teaching Institute - Brothers in Distress
  New Deal cartoon.

• PRIMARY SOURCE: Weebly.com - The New Deal (cartoon)

• Academy of Political Science: What the New Deal Did 
  From JSTOR database.

• A New Deal Historiography
  By Cathy Li, New York University.

• Routledge: The Great Depression and New Deal—A Historiographical Survey

• The New Deal: Accomplishments and Failures

• California Labor Federation: Radical responses to the Great Depression

• University of Washington: The Great Depression in Washington State - Radicalism

• Britannica: Political movements and social change

• Washington Post: These are the three reasons fascism spread in 1930s America

• Encyclopedia.com: Political Ideologies: Leaning Left 1929-1939

• People's World: The Communist Party in the ’30s: The Depression and the great upsurge

• Radical Responses to the Great Depression

• 'A dog in the night-time' problem: American fascism in the 1930s
  From JSTOR database.

Includes Theatre, Visual Arts, Literature, Film, Photography, Music, Sport

• Lumen Learning: Culture in the Thirties

• Britannica: New Forms of Cultural Expression

• National Gallery of Art: Art and the Great Depression

• The Collector: The Sociocultural Impact of the Great Depression

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Library of Congress: Art and Entertainment in the 1930s and 1940s

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Christopher Newport University LibGuides - Art and Cultur

Roosevelt was elected the US President in 1932 with a promise to do something about the economic impact of the Great Depression. He expanded the role of the Federal Government and increased spending on public works to try and provide unemployment. His ‘fireside chats’ on the radio offered a glimmer of hope and stability to a nation shocked by the extent of the economic downturn.

• Franklin D. Roosevelt - America's Greatest President?

• ABC-Net: Franklin Delano Roosevelt's First 100 Days

  Radio program.

• University of Missouri St Louis: Assess the Effectiveness of FDR's New Deal

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Christopher Newport University LibGuides - FDR

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Library of Congress - FDR and the New DealFranklin Delano Roosevelt

• Chapter 4 on Franklin Delano Roosevelt, from Leuchtenburg, William E., The American President : From Teddy Roosevelt to Bill Clinton, Oxford University Press USA, 2015. Accessed from ProQuest Ebook Central database, http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/uql/detail.action?docID=4083524.

• Assess the effectiveness of The New Deal

• Cartoon about FDR and the New Deal

  From https://americanhistory.si.edu/american-enterprise-exhibition/corporate-era/new-deal

• PRIMARY SOURCES: FDR and Fireside Chats 

• PRIMARY SOURCE: National Archives: FDR's First Inaugural Address Declaring 'War' on the Great Depression 

• PRIMARY SOURCE: National Archives: FDR's Fireside Chat on the Recovery Program

• PRIMARY SOURCES: Encyclopedia.com - FDR

• PRIMARY SOURCES: FDR and Fireside Chats

• Letter from FDR re Social Security Act

Wife and political aide of American president F.D.Roosevelt. Roosevelt was an active First Lady, giving speeches, writing a column and meeting with the unemployed. She helped to reassure workers that the Roosevelt administration was committed to trying to solve their plight. In 1933, she defused a situation with the Bonus Army – a situation Hoover had responded to by sending in the army. Roosevelt was also sympathetic to civil rights for African-Americans and other minorities.

• Christopher Newport University: Eleanor Roosevelt
  Primary sources.

• University of Texas: Eleanor Roosevelt

• DocsTeach: Eleanor Roosevelt
  Primary source.

• FDR Library: Eleanor Roosevelt

• Eleanor Roosevelt Readings

• Women's History: Eleanor Roosevelt - an agent of social change

• Legacy of Eleanor Roosevelt
  Accessed via JSTOR database.

Keynes was one of the most influential economists of the Twentieth Century. The Great Depression left classical economists stumped as faith in free markets appeared to be misplaced. Keynes saw the Great Depression as a trigger to create a new way of economic thinking. Keynes advocated government intervention to kickstart economies in a slump. He was mostly ignored in the 1930s, but his General Theory (1936) laid the foundations of Keynesian economics and a new branch of macroeconomics.