Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 2: Inequalities of Income Distribution

Feedback Survey

Definitions

Policy:
A law, regulation, procedure, administrative action, incentive, or voluntary practice of governments and other institutions. Policy decisions are frequently reflected in resource allocations.
Solution:
An action or process of solving a problem
OR an answer to a problem 
Strategy:
A plan of action designed to achieve a long-term or overall aim.

Inequality of Income Distribution - General

UNSW Newsroom: Who is most impacted by inequality in Australia 2020?

ACOSS and UNSW: Inequality in Australia 2020 Part 1 - Impact of Covid on Income Inequality 

ACOSS and UNSW: Inequality in Australia 2020 Part 2 - Who is affected and why? 

APO: Inequality in Australia 2020 - Part 1, Overview

ABC News (Sep 2020): Rich getting richer and poor slipping further back, with youth inequality growing fastest, ACOSS says

Phys.org (Dec 2020): New report: Who is most impacted by inequality in Australia? 

Sydney Morning Herald (Dec 2020): The rich, the comfortable middle and the rest: Australia’s wealth and income ladder revealed

The Guardian: Inequality is already rising in Australia - Tax cuts would entrench it for no economic reason (2020)

2018 Productivity Commission: Rising Inequality? A Stocktake of the Evidence 

The Guardian: Australian Poverty in Graphs - It's a Desperate State of Affairs 
Check out the excellent and up-to-date graph.

Roy Morgan: Wealth Inequality in Australia is Getting Worse 

Probono Australia: Wealth Inequality in Australia on the Rise 

ACOSS: Inequality in Australia 2018 

Trends in Australia's Distribution of Income and Wealth 2018 
By Whiteford, Peter, in Ecodate journal. 01/03/2018, Vol. 32 Issue 1, p3-11. 9p.  

The Courier Mail: New report reveals reality of inequality in Australia 

Household Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia 2018(University of Melbourne)

OECD Economics: Income wealth and earnings inequality in Australia - Evidence from the HILDA survey 

Productivity Commission: Is Australia becoming more unequal? (May 2019)

Productivity Commission: Rising Inequality? A Stocktake of the Evidence 

Productivity Commission: Highlights of 'Rising Inequality in Australia' Document 
This document is the highlights package which gives an overview of the above document.

MyBib Referencing Generator

Manage your bibliography using "MyBib" - Referencing - LibGuides at  Melbourne High School

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

NOTE: 

  • Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.
  • Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.
  • Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.

Other Topics A to E

Using Adaptive Governance to Rethink the Way Science Supports Australian Drought Policy

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1462901108000725

Sourced from Australia/New Zealand Points of View Database

Drought Policy - Sourced from the Australian Government Website 

http://www.agriculture.gov.au/ag-farm-food/drought/drought-policy

http://www.agriculture.gov.au/ag-farm-food/drought

ABARES: Farm performance: broadacre and dairy farms, 2016–17 to 2018–19
http://www.agriculture.gov.au/abares/research-topics/surveys/farm-performance

ABARES: Analysis of 2018 Drought
http://www.agriculture.gov.au/abares/Documents/abares-insights-analysis-2018-drought.pdf

North Queensland Register: Drought Slashes Queensland Farmer Incomes by Half
https://www.northqueenslandregister.com.au/story/5721517/qld-farmers-incomes-halved/

2022 Consumer Group Topics

022 National Indigenous Australians Agency: Income 
2022 Australian Institute of Health and Welfare: Indigenous income and finance
2022 The Borgen Project: Challenges for Indigenous Australians

2021 Bloomberg: RBA Aims to Boost Job Outcomes for Indigenous Australians

2019 Australian Institute of Health and Welfare: Indigenous Income and Finance 
2019-20 Parliament of Australia: Indigenous Affairs Overview
2020 School of Justice, UQ: 'Walking in 2 worlds' - a qualitative review of income management in Cape York 
ABS: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Income, 2016 
Cashless Welfare Card / Income Management Plans
Alternative Law Journal: Welfare meeting financial services - the cashless debit card dichotomy 

Griffith Law Review: Cashless welfare transfers and Australia's First Nations - Redemptive or repressive violence? 

2022 The Guardian: Labor promises to scrap ‘privatised’ cashless welfare card if elected
2020 School of Justice, UQ: 'Walking in 2 worlds' - a qualitative review of income management in Cape York 
2022 The Guardian: Cashless debit card users able to opt out by October as Labor prepares to scrap program
2022 Department of Social Services: Changes to the cashless debit card

2022/August The Australian Financial Review: Labor confirms payments boost for more seniors 

2022/August The Australian: ‘Tsunami of trauma’ if cashless debit card axed

2022/August The Australian: Laverton warns of grog-fuelled violence as cashless card goes 

 2022/August The Courier-Mail: Welfare payment drug and grog fear

 

Australian National University: Unpacking the income of Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians: Wages, government payments and other income 
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander profile - Household income 
ANU University: Indigenous Income, Poverty and Inequality, 2016 
Bridging Our Growing Divide: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders 
Multidimensional Disadvantage of Australian Children 
This study compares the well-being of indigenous with non-indigenous children in Australia.
Experiences of Racism and Socio Economic Status 
Does Racism explain the gap between health and socioeconomic status among Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples?

Around 7 million people – or 28% of the Australian population – live in rural and remote areas, which encompass many diverse locations and communities (ABS 2022c). These Australians face unique challenges due to their geographic location and often have poorer health outcomes than people living in metropolitan areas.

2022 ABS Income Inequality

2022 The Guardian: Australia’s highest and lowest income suburbs: how does your postcode compare?

2022 National Rural Health Alliance: Poverty in rural and remote Australia

2022 ABC News: Cost-of-living crisis forcing people in remote regions to give up fresh produce

2022 Australian Institute of Health and Welfare: Rural and remote Australians

2022 Australian Institute for Health and Welfare: Rural and remote health

2022 Pro Bono Australia: Affluent but unequal: how the urban-regional divide is affecting Australian children

2022/August The Australian: Rural jobs 'could solve shortage'

2020 Remote area tax concessions and payments - Productivity Commission Report 

The Australian: One Nation and Pauline Hanson tap into a regional disconnect

Food Price Gap Shows Needs For Subsidies and Promo Deals in Rural and Remote Areas 
Sourced through Informit database. This article discusses the cost of fresh, high quality foods in rural and remote areas compared to big cities.

Rural Health.org: Income Inequality Experienced by People in Rural and Remote Australia 

Regional Austalia Institute: The indicators of, and impact of, regional inequality in Australia 

ACTU: Regional Inequality in Australia and the Future of Work 

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)

Useful Databases

Zotero Citation-Maker Program

Other Topics F to M

Employment Conditions and Health Inequalities - Use a Control + F search to find "foreign workers"

Language Proficiency and Socioeconomic Outcomes 
Sourced through Google Scholar this paper looks at migrants' English speaking ability and the relationship with socioeconomic status.

2022 The Guardian: Buyers warned about rushing into government’s First Home Guarantee scheme
2022 Soho: First Home Buyers Are Struggling More Than Ever – Here’s Why

2022 Mozo: Comparing Liberal and Labor's housing proposals: which one will actually solve housing inequality?

2022  Real Estate.com.au: Government policies to help ageing Aussies are hurting first homebuyers, research shows

Is home ownership becoming less accessible in Australia? 
Sourced through informit database, this article examines the factors surrounding first home ownership.
Good News As Old Economy Lifts 
Sourced from Informit Database. Discussing the First Home Buyers stamp duty cuts.
Australian First Home Buyers Have Unrealistic Expectations 
Your Mortgage Australia: What You Need to Know About Morrison's First Home-Buyer Scheme 
Channel 9 Finance: Little Respite for First Home Buyers Despite Cooling Aussie Housing Market 
Australian Financial Review: Caution Urged For First Home Buyers AFR: Caution Urged for First Home Buyers 
The Conversation: The Brutal Truth on Housing - Somebody has to lose in order for first home-buyers to win 
Reserve Bank : The Housing Market and the Economy 
Review of current housing market highlighting issues which will impact first home buyers - range of graphs showing housing price to income models, the decreasing amount of disposable income, effect of foreign investment etc
Finder: First home buyer interest surges in 2019 
Ray White: Infographic - First Home Buyers 
Real Estate Institute WA: Latest ABS figures show Australian first home buyers are active 

Inequality in Australia Infographic

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Advanced Web Searching Tips

1. Use 'Ctrl F' (Control + Find) to search for particular terms easily in a long document, whether from a website or a database article.
2.  Use a Boolean command - put double inverted commas around phrases to limit and improve your results eg "energy drinks cardiovascular problems children". 
3. Use a Google domain command eg site:edu OR site:gov to limit results to a CERTAIN DOMAIN such as education or government eg biodiesel site:edu
4. Use a Google command to limit results to the MOST RECENT: After you get your results, choose the Google Menu Bar, and choose 'Tools'. Then on the far left, at the drop-down menu next to 'Any Time', you can choose 'Within the last year' (or less, if you prefer), but generally, you can choose 'Custom Range' at the bottom, as often the last 3-4 years would be sufficient for a recent search.

Other Topics N to Y

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (2020): Elective Surgery 
The Cost of Waiting on an Orthopaedic Waiting List: A Scoping Review 
Sourced from Informit database. From 2003-2033 there is a predicted 223% increase inexpenditure on health management of musculoskeletal
disorders

There is a Housing Crisis in Sydney Sourced through google using site:gov at the beginning of the search.

Underemployment in Australia: A Panel Investigation (2018) 
Referencing: Parvinder Kler, Azhar Hussain Potia & Sriram Shankar (2018) Underemployment in Australia: a panel investigation, Applied Economics Letters, 25:1, 24-28, DOI:10.1080/13504851.2017.1290770
Australian Bureau of Statistics: Underemployment 
https://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/ausstats/subscriber.nsf/0/F132F8C5891DC104CA2577510019FE8F/$File/41020_underemployment.pdf
Underemployment: A New Source of Misery 
Australian Financial Review
Jobless rate will tell only half the story 
Australian Financial Review

Employment Predictors 
Sourced through google using site:gov. This article details the relationship between people with disabilities and employment.

Spill Over Effects of Spousal Unemployment 
Sourced through google using site:gov. This document discusses the impact of a spouse’s or partner’s unemployment on the older adults’ mental health.

Securing Better Pay Document sourced through Expanded Academic ASAP database. It was published in 2009

Developing Career Readiness Sourced through Google using site:gov. This paper discusses the role of tertiary institutions in providing students with opportunities to develop career readiness.

The Guardian: No jobs, no homes, no services: how inequality is crippling young people