Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 2: Philosophy of Religion

Philosophy of Religion

Philosophical skills

Introduction to critical thinking

Deductive arguments

Abductive arguments (Khan Academy)

What makes a valid argument

Sound and unsound arguments (Khan Academy)

Justification and explanation

Argument and evidence (in relation to religion)

Websites for fallacies - one of Mr Johnson's favourite websites

Guide to the study of philosophy

How to argue your case like a great philosopher. Robust debate is an important skill in work and life. Knowing how to argue is more than simply stating your opinion. Dr Patrick Stokes shares his tips.  

Ontological resources

ARTICLES

Ontological arguments from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The ontological argument - this takes you to a Theism page on Encyclopedia Britannica so do Ctrl F to find 'The ontological argument

Ontological argument - can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

OTHER ONTOLOGICAL PHILOSOPHERS

Kant's philosophy of Religion

Descartes ontological argument

Christianity - do a Control F to find 'The ontological argument' 2/3 down the page on Encyclopedia Britannia

PROBLEMS WITH ONTOLOGY

The problems of ontology - it takes you to a Philosophy of Logic page so do Ctrl F to find 'The problems of Ontology' on Encyclopedia Britannica

Cosmological resources

ARTICLES

Cosmological argument from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Christianity - do a Control F to find 'The cosmological argument' 2/3 down the page on Encyclopedia Britannia

Cosmological argument for the existence of God - can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

Cosmological argument - Kantian origins; other alternatives; difficulties - can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

VIDEOS

Cosmological argument series by Timothy Yenter on the Wiphi website.

St Thomas Aquinas

ARTICLES

Aquinas: Th existence of God can be proved in five ways - this article just lists his arguments and nothing else

Saint Thomas Aquinas (see especially section 11.1 God).

The Five Ways from Britannica

Aquinas: Philosophical Theology from the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

PODCASTS

The ox heard round the world: Thomas Aquinas - History of Philosophy podcast (22m21s)

Scott MacDonald on Aquinas - History of Philosophy podcast (28m06s)

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

QCA Sample Assessment Instrument

undefined

Teleological resources

ARTICLES

Teleological arguments for God's existence from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Teleology from Encyclopedia Britannica

Teleology from Aristotle to Kant

Is Intelligent Design Theory Really an Argument for "God"?

Q&A: intelligent design

TELEOLOGICAL PHILOSOPHERS (OTHER THAN ST THOMAS AQUINAS)

Bertrand Russell - says we create purpose.

William Paley - he put forward the watchmaker analogy

David Hume criticised it

Immanuel Kant

Hume and Kant on teleology - can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

ARGUMENTS AGAINST INTELLIGENT DESIGN

Intelligent design theory

Intelligent Design / The watchmaker

INTELLIGENT DESIGN

Intelligent design from Encyclopedia Britannica

Design arguments for the existence of God from the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Proofs for the existence of God: The teleological arguments - this textbook has links to counter-arguments and other useful information

The design argument

ARGUMENT AGAINST INTELLIGENT DESIGN

Looking for God in all the wrong places

The watch and the watchmaker analogy for the existence of God

ARGUMENTS AGAINST THE WATCHMAKER 

The Watchmaker Analogy: a self-refuting argument

Evil and suffering

ARTICLES

The problem of evil from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Problem of evil from Encyclopedia Britannica

The problem of evil: Augustine and Aquinas - can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

Chapter 7 of this textbook: Introducing Philosophy of Religion 

SHORT VIDEOS

The problem of evil - short lecture series by Greg Ganssle on Wiphi

The problem of evil - single video by Sally Haslanger on Wiphi 

Classical theism - 7 short videos including: What is the nature of God; God's goodness and justice; Evil and goodness in the world; Atheistic arguments from evil.

Philosophy of Religion articles from Infobase

All of these articles are from the Modern World History (Infobase) database which we had access to during the Covid situation.

Useful databases

 World Religions online database. Username: brisboys and Password: trial. Look on the tab at the top and see if there are any 'Primary Sources'. On trial because of the Corona Virus shutdown until May 31.

Philosophy of Religion - useful resources

GENERAL 

Arguments for the existence of God: Reason - Chapter 5 of a textbook with information on ontological, cosmological and teleological arguments.

Introducing Philosophy of Religion - a textbook with chapters on ontological, cosmological and teleological information. 

Can Science prove - or disprove - God?

Philosophy of Religion from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Proofs for the existence of God - has information about ontological, cosmological and teleological arguments. It can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

Philosophy of Religion - use Ctrl F to find general information about your topic - can be accessed through Gale in Context database.

Arguments for the existence of God

10 proofs that will change how you think about God

Even though it's Wikipedia, it looks like a good overview: Existence of God - Wikipedia

USEFUL LECTURES FROM THE UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD

Ontological and Cosmological Arguments for the Existence of God - opens in YouTube but has no graphics. (41m26s)

Arguments for and against God; the design argument (teleological argument) - opens in YouTube but has no graphics (40m20s)

Philosophy of Religion eBooks

undefined What is Philosophy of Religion? by Charles Taliaferro.

undefined Contemporary Philosophy of Religion by Steven Duncan and Mark Addis.

undefined Philosophy of Religion by Chad Meister

General philosophy resources

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Facts Encyclopedia - Philosophy Resources. 

Virtual Religion

Some texts from Early Modern Philosophy

The Philosophy of Religion - from the Stanford Encyclopedia

The basics of Philosophy - you can search by branch/doctrine, by historical period, by movement/school, or by individual philosopher. 

Smart Scholar

Wiphi - Our mission is to introduce the public to the practice of philosophy through free, entertaining, and accessible videos featuring experts from around the world.

History of Philosophy - King's College London