Brisbane Boys' College Library: Senior: 11 &amp; 12: Unit 4: Cold War

2024 Topics

Cold War - Chapter from 'Modern History Transformed - Year 12' by D. Le Cornu, C. Bradbury and K. Carroll.

AlphaHiistory - Cold War topics

History learning site UK: What Was the Cold War?

Gamblizard: Fall of the Soviet Union

United Kingdom Government National Archive

Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy: The Cold War

Wilson Centre Origins of the Cold War Documents - This collection of primary source documents discusses international relations during World War II and the years shortly after.

Primary source

Occupation and the Emergence of Two States (1945-1961) : German History in Documents and Images

Secondary sources

Alpha History - The Berlin Wall

Warfare History Network - The symbolism of the Berlin Wall during the Cold War

Rare Historical Photos - The story of Berlin Wall in pictures, 1961-1989

BBC News: Fall of Berlin Wall: How 1989 reshaped the modern world

The Fall of the Berlin Wall: A Defining Moment in World History

Useful eBooks

Daily Life Behind the Iron Curtain by Jim Willis
ISBN: 9780313397639
Publication Date: 2013

Berlin Blockade

Cold War Museum - Scroll down to 'Berlin Blockade' and 'Berlin Airlift'

The Cold War Museum: Berlin Blockade

Harry S. Trueman Library: Berlin Blockade

John D. Clare.net: Berlin Blockade

Military History: The Berlin Blockade

Berlin: The Flashpoint of the Cold War

Look through the History databases above under 'Central Intelligence Agency' or 'C.I.A.'. There are many sources here!

C.I.A. (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency) - Accessed via Gale E-books database. By Judson Knight, at https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=61book02.

Central Intelligence Agency C.I.A. - Accessed via Modern History database. By Combs, Cindy C., and Martin W. Slann. 2007. By Infobase publishers. https://online.infobase.com/HRC/Browse/Product/3

Central Intelligence Agency - Accessed via Modern World History database. By Combs, Cindy C., and Martin W. Slann. “Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). 2007. https://online.infobase.com/HRC/Browse/Product/3

Central Intelligence Agency (C.I.A.) - Accessed via Gale E-books database. By Hugh Wilford, Professor of History, California State University, Long Beach USA, at

Establishment of the C.I.A. and its vital role in the Cold War era - PhD. thesis submitted for approval.

Central Intelligence Agency - Accessed via JSTOR database. Very long document with lots of information!

C.I.A. Primary Source: Remarks at the cornerstone-laying for the CIA Building at Langley, Virginia, November 3 1959

C.I.A. Primary Source: Remarks to top personnel at the CIA March 7 1969 - Accessed via History Reference Centre

C.I.A. Primary Source: Remarks to Agency employees August 16, 1978

Book Review: "U.S. Covert Operations and Cold War Strategy: Truman, Secret Warfare, and the CIA, 1945-53"

Spy Agencies, Intelligence Operations, and the People Behind Them by Britannica Educational Publishing Staff; Robert Curley (Editor)
ISBN: 9781622750382
Publication Date: 2013-07-30

Assassination of JFK

Politico - How the CIA came to doubt the official story of JFK’s murder

Center for Politics - JFK records reveal intense level of secrecy by CIA during investigation of assassination

History Hit - JFK’s assassination: The leading conspiracy theories

HistoryExtra - Who was behind JFK’s assassination? The real history that challenges the conspiracy

Guide to Russia: Cuban Missile Crisis

ThinkQuest: Cuban Missile Crisis

BBC History: JFK & the Cuban Missile Crisis

History and Politics Out Loud: Cuban Missile Crisis

George Washington Uni: The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962

Cuban Missile Crisis: Primary Sources

Naval Historical Center: Cuban Missile Crisis

Global Security: Cuban Missile Crisis

New York Times: Fidel Castro, Cuban Revolutionary who defied U.S., dies at 90

PBS: Castro and the Cold War

Wilson Center Digital Archive - Cuban Missile Crisis - has links to primary sources

“Blundering on the Brink”: Cuban Missile Crisis Documents from the Central Archive of the Russian Ministry of Defense - has links to Russian primary sources

History Atelier - Chernobyl’s role in fall of the USSR

Did Reagan make Gorbachev possible?

Mikhail Gorbachev and his role in the peaceful solution of the Cold War

Britannica - Mikhail Gorbachev

Briannica - Cold War alliances and leaders

Biography online - Mikail Gorbachev

BBC News - Mikhail Gorbachev: The Soviet leader who helped end the Cold War

Time - How Gorbachev ended the Cold War

Council on Foreign Relations - Gorbachev: Conflicted catalyst of Cold War’s end

Legacy

Reuters - Last Soviet leader Gorbachev, who ended Cold War and won Nobel prize, dies aged 91

Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs - Gorbachev and the end of the Cold War

Useful eBooks

Cold War Leaders by Wendy Conklin
ISBN: 9781433390777
Publication Date: 2007
Cold War by James R. Arnold (Editor); Roberta Wiener (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610690041
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
The 100 Most Influential World Leaders of All Time by Amy McKenna (Editor); Britannica Educational Publishing Staff
ISBN: 9781615300594
Publication Date: 2010-01-04

Korean War: Australian Government

Naval History & Heritage: Korean War

ThinkQuest: Korean War-The Forgotten War

US Army Military History: Korean War

BBC: The Korean War - An Overview

Eastern Illinois University: North Korean relations with China and the Soviet Union

Review of 'A Misunderstood Friendship: Mao Zedong, Kim Il-Sung and Sino-North Korean Relations 1949-1976

Great Battles in Australian History by J. King
Go to p.371 - Kapyong 23-24 April 1931 - 'Halting the Communist advance'

History Learning Site: Nuclear Arms Race

How Stuff Works: How the Nuclear Arms Race works

AudiFaz: The Nuclear Arms Race

Flow of History: Nuclear Arms Race

Arms Control Association - The revolution that failed: Nuclear competition, arms control, and the Cold War

Council on Foreign Relations - Timeline: U.S.- Russia nuclear arms control

History Learning Site: Nuclear Arms Race

Vibration Data: The Cold War & Space Race

Understand the Cold War - Check the chapter on the Arms Race.

American Arsenal by Patrick Coffey

Chernobyl

Britannica - Chernobyl disaster: Causes, effects, deaths, videos, location, & facts

History Today - Challenger and Chernobyl: Cold War catastrophes

Wilson Center - 28 Newly translated documents on Chernobyl, 1973-1991

BBC News - How Chernobyl shook the USSR

Lowy Institute - Chernobyl: the continuing political consequences of a nuclear accident

Midnight in Chernobyl: the untold story of the world's greatest nuclear disaster by A. Higginbotham

National Army Museum UK - Malayan Emergency

Warfare History Network - The Malayan Emergency: How to fight a counterinsurgency war

Australian War Memorial - Malayan Emergency

Anzac Portal - The Malayan Emergency 1948 to 1960

Economic History Malaya - The Emergency 1948–1960: Malayan communist party strategies

New Zealand history - NZ and the Malayan Emergency: Malayan Emergency

University of Sheffield - History Matters - British Imperial Revival in the Early Cold War: The Malayan ‘Emergency’

Parliament of Australia - The 70th anniversary of the Malayan Emergency: a quick guide

BBC World Service - The Forum, The Malayan Emergency (podcast: 39 minutes)

Alpha History: Cold War propaganda

Journal of Cold War Studies: Hearts and minds - The unconventional Cold War

Journal of Cold War Studies: Soviet youth mobilisation and the Cuban Missile Crisis

University of Virginia dissertation: Defending a way of life - American propaganda and the Cold War 1945-1959

E-International Relations: US propaganda and the cultural Cold War

Britannica - Josip Broz Tito: Biography & facts

History Chronicles - Josip Broz Tito: The enigmatic leader of Yugoslavia

Centre for European Studies - Background: Tito’s Yugoslavia

BBC News - The legacy of Yugoslavia's Marshal Tito

Uni. of North Carolina: Centre for European Studies - Background: Tito’s Yugoslavia

Research Gate: Tito’s Yugoslavia and after

History Chronicles - Josip Broz Tito: The enigmatic leader of Yugoslavia

Ohio State Uni. eHistory - Josip Broz Tito

Wilson Center - Cold War International History Project

HIDDEN: Useful Articles

eBooks from the

Access to History for the IB Diploma: the Cold War: Superpower Tensions and Rivalries Second Edition by David Williamson
Secret History by Reg Grant
Understand the Cold War by Carole Bryan Jones
Cold War by J.R. Arnold (Ed); R. Wiener (Ed)

Primary Source documents

Wilson Center Digital Archive: excellent range of primary documents - use the search box to find your topic

The Avalon Project, Yale Law School: primary documents from the Cold War

CIA: Assessing the Soviet threat

Library of Congress: Revelations from the Russian Archives_Cold War. Documents translated into English and accessed via the Library of Congress

Office of The Historian, United States Government: Cold War years

British National Archives: The Cold War

John F Kennedy Museum: Cold War documents

History.com - videos of speeches from the Cold War

Korean War : Australian Government

Berlin Wall

Occupation and the Emergence of Two States (1945-1961): German History in Documents and Images

Video Overview of the Cold War

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Useful Databases

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window

Referencing Hints

Hints for In-Text and End-Text Referencing

History Essay Template

History Essay Template

eBooks from the Library Catalogue

The Cold War
Includes Cuban Missile Crisis, Arms Race, Spies / Espionage, Secret Service, Berlin and Propaganda.
Cold War Leaders
Includes Soviet Union and Chinese leaders Lenin, Stalin, Khrushchev, Gorbachev and Mao Zedong.
The rise and fall of Détente
A survey of the evolution of American foreign policy during a key period in recent history, the era of superpower détente and global transformation in the 1960s and 1970s. Examines the reasons that led to the rise of détente, explores the highlights of the era’s reduced East-West tensions, and explains the causes of détente’s demise.
Daughters of the KGB
Discusses the KGB's 'daughter' organisations through which Moscow terrorised the satellite states grabbed by Stalin during and after the Second World War. Staffed by Moscow-trained nationals closely monitored by KGB 'ambassadors', Poland's UB, the Czech StB, the Hungarian AVH, Romania's Securitate, Bulgaria's KDS and the ultra-Stalinist Stasi of the German Democratic Republic all repressed democratic movements in their respective countries for forty years.
Equal security; Europe and the SALT process, 1967-1976
Superpower detente during the Nixon-Ford Administration led to the formation of an East-West regime aimed at conflict control and systemic stability. 'Equal Security' was the proclaimed goal. By institutionalizing bipolarity, however, the bilateral US-SU Strategic Arms Limitation Talks actually threatened Western European security, for global security and Alliance security were ultimately incompatible.
Spy agencies, intelligence operations, and the people behind them
This compelling volume examines the models intelligence agencies around the world have used both in the past and present, notable individuals, and the intelligence priorities of the Middle East and East Asia.
The A to Z of NATO and Other International Security Organizations
Covers the Atlantic Alliance's origins, structure and organization, including a broader Euro-Atlantic security architecture (e.g., North Atlantic Consultative Council, Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council, NATO-Russia Charter; NATO-Ukraine Charter, and NATO-Mediterranean Dialogue Partners).
A Failed Empire
Western interpretations of the Cold War have erred by exaggerating either the Kremlin's pragmatism or its aggressiveness, argues Vladislav Zubok. Explaining the interests, aspirations, illusions, fears, and misperceptions of the Kremlin leaders and Soviet elites, Zubok offers a Soviet perspective on the greatest standoff of the twentieth century.
Moscow Rules: Secret police, spies, sleepers and assassins by Douglas Boyd
Soviet dictator Josef Stalin installed secret police services in all the satellite countries of Central and Eastern Europe. Trained by his NKVD, a predecessor of the KGB officers of the Polish UB, the Czech StB, the Hungarian AVO, Romania's Securitate, Bulgaria's KDS, Albania's Sigurimi and the Stasi of the German Democratic Republic spied on and ruthlessly repressed their fellow citizens on the Soviet model. When the resultant hatred exploded in uprisings they were put down by brutality, bloodshed and Soviet tanks. What was at first not so obvious was that these state terror organisations were also designed for military and commercial espionage in the West, to conceal the real case officers in Moscow. Specially trained operatives undertook 'wet jobs', including assassination of anti-Soviet figures. Perhaps the most menacing were the sleepers who settled in the West, married and had children while waiting to strike against their host countries.
Khrushchev
Explores the innovative theme of Khrushchev as reformer, arguing that the 'bumbling' nature of those reforms only partly reflected Khrushchev's uncertainty about how to act. Swain provides a cogent account of Khrushchev's political career and of his wider role in Soviet and world politics.

Cover Art Access to History for the IB Diploma: the Cold War: Superpower Tensions and Rivalries Second Edition