Brisbane Boys' College Library: Senior: 11 &amp; 12: Unit 1: The Russian Revolution (IA3)

Possible Topics

The role of the Tsar, Nicholas II, (and Tsarina Alexandra?)
A critique of Tsarist Russia – in general – leading to the Revolutions
The roles of prominent characters associated with the Revolution:
- Lenin
- Trotsky
- Kerensky
- Rasputin
The 1905 Revolution
The effect of Russia’s involvement in WWI
The dynamic/power struggle between the Provisional Govt. and the Petrograd Soviet during 1917
The Russian Civil War (Reds v Whites)
The ultimate Bolshevik victory – why did it occur?

The above is not a finite list - if you have another request then pass it by your teacher for approval.

Useful Websites

Alpha History: The Russian Revolution
Marquette Unviersity (US): The Russian Revolution of 1917
Spartacus Educational: The Russian Revolution
Bucknell University: The Russian Revolution -Provides links to a variety of sites on Russian history.
History.com: Russian Revolution
Orlando Figes: Russian Revolution - From a university lecturer. Breaks the topic into manageable chunks.
New World Encyclopedia: Russian Revolution
Alpha History: Historiography of the Russian Revolution
National Geographic: From Tsar to U.S.S.R.: Russia's Chaotic Year of Revolution

Timeline of 1917
From Marxists.org. Be aware of bias.

Northeastern University: The Russian Revolution of 1905: What Were the Major Causes?

Russo-Japanese War (Britannica, n.d.)

[Russian] foreign policy and the Russo-Japanese War (Britannica, n.d.)

International Encyclopedia of the First World War: Russo-Japanese-War

"The Russian-Japanese War of 1904-1905, caused by Russian and Japanese expansionism in the Far East, inflicted humiliating defeats on Russia at land and sea. The war contributed to domestic unrest in both countries, catalysing the revolution of 1905 in Russia.

Bloody Sunday (Britannica, n.d.)
Causes of the 1905 Revolution (BBC Bitesize, n.d.)
"Long term economic and political discontent led to the 1905 revolution. Defeat by Japan brought the Tsar's rule into question. The Bloody Sunday massacre was an important short term cause." BBC Bitesize, n.d.)
Revolution of 1905 (Russian Empire) (Peeling, 2014)
"Social and political unrest swept the Russian Empire in 1905, forcing the autocratic tsarist regime to grant the creation of a popularly-elected legislative body; the State Duma. However, the army remained largely loyal to the Tsar, unlike in the wartime conditions of 1917, and the regime did not topple." (Peeling, 2014)
Russian Revolution of 1905 (Britannica High, n.d.)
"Russian Revolution of 1905, uprising that was instrumental in convincing Tsar Nicholas II to attempt the transformation of the Russian government from an autocracy into a constitutional monarchy." ("Russian Revolution of 1905", n.d.)
Why was there a Revolution in 1905? (Figes, 2014)
"The Russian revolution did not start with the peasantry or the industrial working class. It began with the liberal opposition movement of the middle classes and nobility whose demands for political reform in 1903-4 opened up a revolutionary front against the autocracy."

International Encyclopedia of the First World War: Russia and World War I

The History Guide: The Aftermath of the Bolshevik Revolution

Key Figures

Nicholas and Alexandra
Useful links to resources on the Romanov dynasty.

The Tsarist Methods of Control - State Infrastructure

Yale University Lectures: The Romanovs and the Russian Revolution

Marxist.org: Lenin Internet Archive
Be wary of bias from this Marxist site.
Alpha History: Lenin
UKTV: Lenin - Heroic Visionary or Tyrant?
Western Technical College: Vladimir Lenin and Adolf Hitler - Tyrants of Evil
The Oldies: Lenin the Dictator - An Intimate Portrayal by Victor Sebestyen

Vladimir Ilich Lenin
Accessed via Gale Ebooks database.
An Open Letter to American Workers (Primary Source)
Accessed via History Reference Centre database.
Lenin: A 'Workers' and 'Peasants' Revolution (Primary Source)
Accessed via Modern World History (Infobase) database.

Marxist.org: Trotsky Internet Archive
Be wary of Marxist bias.

Assess the Significance of Trotsky

Primary Sources

Fordham University Internet Sourcebook: Russian Revolution

Eurodocs: A Collection of Primary Sources

Alpha History: Russian Revolution Documents
This is a solid collection of primary documents from 1917 as well as a detailed chronology of events.

Seton Hall University: Documents in Russian History

Granger Academic

Online repository of historical images, cartoons and posters.

Seventeen Moments in Soviet History
This is a collection of primary and multi-media materials relating to 17 key moments in the history of the Soviet Union from 1917-1991. Each section contains an introductory essay plus access to digitised government documents, photographs and multi-media clips. Links are also provided to related web sites.

The Deepening of the Russian Revolution 1917
This is a good source for both online and print primary documents about the 1917 Revolution. One of the most engaging aspects of this site for student is the interactive parallel timelines for workers, peasants, soldiers and activists.

Eyewitness Accounts: Visitors to Soviet Russia 1917-1928
A series of reports, photographs and other documents of eye witness accounts of the early years of the Soviet Union by foreign visitors.

Time Magazine: The Bolshevik October Revolution in Pictures
Time magazine’s compelling photo essay allows students to see the events of 1917 through the lens of gorgeous black and white photos taken during the Revolution.

Sources of Evidence
An online teaching module on 1917 with a great section of primary sources including revolutionary songs, pictures and maps.

BBC Library Catalogue - Oliver

The Oliver library catalogue is your go-to spot for searching library resources (books, eBooks, websites, DVDs). You do not need to login to search; however, if you do, you have extra functions available such as the ability to reserve books and reborrow items.

OneSearch Database Articles

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Useful Databases

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Source Analysis and Evaluation Skills

IOPCAM Source Analysis and Evaluation

See more information at 'History Skills'

Source Evaluation Skills

Adapted from the book by Douglas Newton, ‘Germany 1918-1945: From Days of Hope to Years of Horror’, Collins Dove, Melbourne, 1990.

MyBib Referencing Generator

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

NOTE:

Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.
Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.
Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.

MyBib - 'How to' Guide

Useful Ebooks from the Library Catalogue

The Russian Revolution by Russell Trenton
Relates the circumstances that led to the end of the Romanov Dynasty and the Russian aristocracy, the heartrending struggles of the peasants, the violence and bloodshed of the revolution, and the rise of the new social order and its far-reaching consequences that continue to be felt in Russia today
The Russian Revolution by Sheila Fitzpatrick
Takes into account the centenary of the Revolution in 2017 and what it means today.
Worldmark Modern Conflict and Diplomacy
Go to the dropdown menu and choose the 2nd volume 'Japanese Invasion of China to Yugoslav Wars', then type in 'Russian Revoution and Civil War'.
History of the Russian Revolution by Leon Trotsky; Ahmed Shawki (Introduction by)
Great for primary source! Written by one of the instigators of the Russian Revolution, Leon Trotsky.
Romanovs, 1818-1959
Examines Alexander II's life and reign, and the lives of his children, including his successor Tsar Alexander III, whose determination to purge the empire of all terrorism and protect the autocracy brought more violence in his wake. It also recounts the lives of the Tsar's children.
Romanovs: Europe's most obsessive dynasty
The Romanovs - the second and final dynasty to rule Russia - have captured the imagination of the world like no other royal family.
To Kill Rasputin
Grigori Rasputin is probably one of the best-known but least understood figures in the events that ultimately led to the downfall of the Russian tsars. His political role as the power behind the throne is obscured today, as it was then, by the fascination with his morality and private life.

Read the last chapter, 'The Aftermath' to gain a clearer picture of his role in the downfall of the Romanovs.

Documents to Help With Your Writing

Template for History Essay

Template for History Essay - Example

How to write a History Key Question and Hypothesis
Explains the foundation of your essay construction!

Essay Blank Template - PEEAL
Save this Word document to organise your essay, inserting your background, argument or hypothesis, main points (signposting), elaboration, examples, links and a conclusion.

PEEL Template: Model Answer - Women in Nazi Germany
Check out this PEEL essay structure on Women in Nazi Germany to see how you should set your essay out.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 1: The Russian Revolution (IA3)

Possible Topics

Useful Websites

Alpha History: The Russian Revolution

Bucknell University: The Russian Revolution -Provides links to a variety of sites on Russian history.

Orlando Figes: Russian Revolution - From a university lecturer. Breaks the topic into manageable chunks.

"The Russian-Japanese War of 1904-1905, caused by Russian and Japanese expansionism in the Far East, inflicted humiliating defeats on Russia at land and sea. The war contributed to domestic unrest in both countries, catalysing the revolution of 1905 in Russia.

Key Figures

Primary Sources

Alpha History: Russian Revolution Documents This is a solid collection of primary documents from 1917 as well as a detailed chronology of events.

Online repository of historical images, cartoons and posters.

Eyewitness Accounts: Visitors to Soviet Russia 1917-1928 A series of reports, photographs and other documents of eye witness accounts of the early years of the Soviet Union by foreign visitors.

Time Magazine: The Bolshevik October Revolution in Pictures Time magazine’s compelling photo essay allows students to see the events of 1917 through the lens of gorgeous black and white photos taken during the Revolution.

Sources of Evidence An online teaching module on 1917 with a great section of primary sources including revolutionary songs, pictures and maps.