Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 4: Organic Chemistry in Society (IA3)

Claims and Resources For Them

In this database, enter keyword search 'Hydrogen fuel' and with a different search try 'Fossil fuel'.

In this database, enter keyword search: 'Hydrogen fuel and fossil fuel' - you will see several results.

 Ebook: Hydrogen Fuel

 Ebook: Australia's Energy Debate

In Chapter 2, choose the topic 'Hydrogen: help or hype?', p. 48

Chemical sensors are measurement devices that convert a chemical or physical property of a specific analyte into a measurable signal, whose magnitude is normally proportional to the concentration of the analyte 

Access Science database: Plastics recycling
Plastics for Change: The benefits of using recycled plastics
Ellen Macarthur Foundation: Global commitment overview for plastics
CHEM Trust: Chemical recycling state of play 2020
Access Science database: Plastics recycling links (use passwords to login from home)) 
Chemical and Engineering News: Chemistry may have solutions to our plastic trash problem 
Wiley: Beyond Mechanical Recycling: Giving New Life to Plastic Waste 
Click on 'PDF'.
National Academies of Science Engineering and Medicine: Closing the Loop on the Plastics Dilemma
Cosmos magazine: In search of a better way with plastic 
American Chemical Society (ACS): Chemistry may have solutions to our plastic trash problem
Nature: Chemistry can help make plastics sustainable - but it isn't the whole solution
Chemistry World: Plastic recycling heading for the mainstream
Journal of Polymer Science: Advances and approaches for chemical recycling of plastic waste
Elsevier: Improvement of recyclable plastic waste detection - a novel strategy for the construction of rigid classifiers based on the hyperspectral images 
NewsRx Health & Science: Princeton team advances new route to chemically recyclable plastics 
Science News: Chemists are reimagining recycling to keep plastics out of landfills 
Cosmos magazine: Compostable plastics may not be better 
Courier-Mail: It's two fingers up to waste 
An article in the Courier-Mail 13/3/21 about Australia's first soft plastic food wrapper made from recycled plastic - a KitKat.
Science News: How seafood shells could help solve the plastic waste problem 
Science Direct: Polyurethanes: Structure, properties, synthesis, characterization, and applications
NOTE: U.S. spelling is 'fluro', so search for that as well. Also called 'PFAS'.
Used in a wide range of products, including carpets, nonstick cookware and firefighting foams. Health effects include cancer, liver damage, decreased fertility, and increased risk of asthma and thyroid disease.

Queensland Chemistry Textbook (Pearson) Research Chapter

C.R.A.A.P. Test

Check the quality of your websites using these criteria (adapted from QUT Library):

Currency: Timeliness of the information

  • When was the information published, posted or last updated?
  • Is the information current for your topic and field of study? How recent does it have to be? Can older sources work just as well?
Relevance: Importance of the information for your needs
  • Is the information appropriate for a senior secondary course?
  • Is this an adequately in-depth examination or a quick summary of the topic?
  • Who's the intended audience? Is it the general public, a student, a researcher or industry?
  • Is the level of information too basic or too advanced for your needs?

Authority: Source of the information

  • Is the author/authoring body (individual person, or institution, or organisation) established and reputable?
  • Are their qualifications, credentials, expertise, experience, educational background and previous work (if any) relevant and do they add credibility to the source?
  • Has the piece been published by a well-known and respected publisher or organisation?
  • Do references to other sources support the writing ie is a Reference List provided?

Accuracy: Reliability and correctness of the information

  • Where does the information come from, and is it supported by evidence?
  • Does it have a Reference List or Bibliography so you can easily find and verify the sources used?
  • Are there any spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose: Reason the information exists

  • What is the purpose of the information? Why was it written?
  • Does the point of view appear objective, unbiased and impartial?
  • Is the viewpoint of the author's affiliation/ sponsors reflected in the message or content?
  • Does the author acknowledge alternative versions of the issues or facts?

Zotero Online Referencing Tool

Zotero can be set to the same Harvard AGPS (Australia) style that CiteAce uses, called 'Melbourne Polytechnic - Harvard'. Please read the instructions carefully.

Any issues - see your Library Staff

QCAA Samples and Exemplars

The QCAA website has exemplars of the sorts of research assignments you need to produce. 

Chemistry Exemplar from QCAA
CLAIM: Natural shampoos are better than synthetic shampoos.
RESEARCH QUESTION: Are natural shampoos better cleaners than synthetic shampoos based on surface tension, wetting time, solid content, detergency and foaming ability?

Writing and Rationale

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Science Subscription Databases

 Science Direct 

Please only download an article if you read the abstract (summary) first, and think it will be useful to you. We only have 50 downloads in our yearly subscription.

Subscription Science Journals

Request the Library to purchase an Ebook for your assignment!

Ebook Central
You can see the entire Proquest Ebook Central Catalogue of 500,000 resources by entering your search term in the box above.  You may browse any title for 5 minutes, and if it's one we don't already own, it will say 'request this book from your library', which means you can email the Library to ask us to purchase it if you like it, or simply rent it for a day so you can quickly take the notes you need during that day.
SIGN IN WITH YOUR STUDENT NUMBER AS YOUR USERNAME.
We will attend to your request as quickly as possible!

How to Create In-Text References for Figures and Tables

Advanced Web Searching Tips

1. Use 'Ctrl F' (Control + Find) to search for particular terms easily in a long document, whether from a website or a database article.
2.  Use a Boolean command - put double inverted commas around phrases to limit and improve your results eg "energy drinks cardiovascular problems children". 
3. Use a Google domain command eg site:edu OR site:gov to limit results to a CERTAIN DOMAIN such as education or government eg biodiesel site:edu
4. Use a Google command to limit results to the MOST RECENT: After you get your results, choose the Google Menu Bar, and choose 'Tools'. Then on the far left, at the drop-down menu next to 'Any Time', you can choose 'Within the last year' (or less, if you prefer), but generally, you can choose 'Custom Range' at the bottom, as often the last 3-4 years would be sufficient for a recent search.

Science Template for Writing Research Assignments

From Mrs Allen:

1.       START EARLY

2.       ASSIGNMENT BREAKDOWN
          a.       First 10% - General Reading (This is where your ideas are shaped, read 3-6 sources of VARIETY)
          b.       10% - 40/50% - Active Notetaking (This is where you collect & collate evidence & info)
          c.       40-50% - 80% - Organisation of Ideas (This is where you construct the structure of your essay,  and allocate the number of words for  each part).
          d.       80% - 100% - Writing (This is where you write the assignment as streamlined as possible)

Research Assignment Template - Mrs D.Allen

The Science Research Assignment: Some Hints

Useful Chemistry Websites

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

Useful General Academic Websites

The world’s largest collection of open access research papers

An inclusive journal community which believes all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all

A free distribution service and an open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of science

An American website that aggregates press releases and publishes lightly edited press releases about science.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

undefined

Breaks down the stories behind the most interesting news and photos on the Internet.


 

A network of not-for-profit media outlets that publish news stories on the Internet that are written by academics and researchers

Google Books can be very frustrating because often much of the book is missing and you are expected to purchase it to read the full content. So after you put in your search term you are interested in (eg biodiesel), and get some results up,  you should then go immediately to the search box (on the left - above 'About this box') undefined and type in a particular word or term you are interested in (eg CO2 emissions OR methanol) you should get a number of pages pop up. Choose one that looks useful - you should get some good results this way!

Data Sets

Data sets involve the integration of heterogeneous data in varying formats and from diverse communities. Four basic features can be identified as common to most definitions: grouping, content, relatedness, and purpose.

MyBib Referencing Generator

Manage your bibliography using "MyBib" - Referencing - LibGuides at  Melbourne High School

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

NOTE: 

  • Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.
  • Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.
  • Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.