CLAIM 1: Elements on the left of the periodic table are more reactive than those on the right.
CLAIM 2: Elements become more reactive moving down a group
The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Birtles Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.
Purpose: Reason the information exists
C.R.A.A.P. Test Evaluation Sheet for Sources Used
Save to your tablet, complete and print out to attach to the back of your assignment.
give one-word responses!
Shows exactly how to reference your in-text graphic sources ieTables OR Figures (Diagrams, Graphs, Charts, Photos, Pictures). Just follow either the example for Websites, or the example for Journal Articles.
Zotero can be set to the same Harvard AGPS (Australia) style that CiteAce uses, called 'Melbourne Polytechnic - Harvard'. Please read the instructions carefully.
Any issues - see your Library Staff
Discovery Service database - Research Starter: Alkali metals
From Thomas, Nicholas C., Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science, 2022.
Gale Science in Context database: Alkali metals
From World of Chemistry, Publisher: Gale, 2013
Stanford University: Information on alkali metals
Angelo University: Group 1A — The Alkali Metals
LibreTexts Chemistry University of California Davis: 12.16: The Properties of a Group: The Alkali Metals
LibreTexts Chemistry University of California Davis: Group 1: Properties of Alkali Metals
Discovery Service database - Research Starter: Alkaline earth metals
From Renneboog, Richard M., Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science, 2022
Gale Science in Context database: Alkaline earth metals
From UXL Encyclopedia of Science, 2014.
LibreTexts Chemistry: Group 2 - Chemical Properties of Alkali Earth Metals
LibreTexts Chemistry: Group 2: General Properties
Angelo University: Group 2A — The alkaline earth metals
BlueBox: The alkaline earth metals
ThoughtCo: What Are the Properties of the Alkaline Earth Metals?
Discovery Service database - Research Starter: Transition metals
From Renneboog, R., Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science, 2022
LibreTexts Chemistry: 23.1: General properties of transition metals
LibreTexts Chemistry: 19.1: Properties of transition metals and their compounds
Purdue University: Transition metals
Angelo University: The transition metals
Bluebox: Transition metals
LibreTexts Chemistry: Group 4 Elemental Properties
LibreTexts Chemistry: The Trend from Non-Metal to Metal in Group 4 Elements
MyDigitalKemistry: Group IV-A Elements Properties
StudySmarter: Group 4A
Angelo University: Group 4A
Discovery Service database - Research Starter: Halogens
From Teske, David R., Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science, 2022.
The Science Hive: Group 7 halogens
LibreTexts Chemistry: Group 17 Physical properties of halogens
LibreTexts Chemistry: Group 17: The Halogens
AQA GCSE Chemistry: Group 7: The Halogens (1.2.6)
Chemguide: Atomic and physical properties of the Group 7 elements (the halogens)
PassMyExams: Physical properties of halogens
Discovery Service database - Research Starter: Noble gases
By John R Phillips, Salem Press Encyclopedia of Science, 2022.
Angelo University: Group 8A - the noble or inert gases
ThoughtCo: Noble Gases Properties, Uses and Sources
Vedantu: Noble gases
ChemTalk: Noble gases - periodic table
The world’s largest collection of open access research papers
An inclusive journal community which believes all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all
A free distribution service and an open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of science
An American website that aggregates press releases and publishes lightly edited press releases about science
Breaks down the stories behind the most interesting news and photos on the Internet
Offers the best intelligent, informed science and technology coverage and analysis on a daily basis
Provides the latest science news, in-depth articles, analysis and opinion, photo galleries, video and podcasts from the ABC
Google Scholar's searches are set to cover scholarly material more often than 'regular' Google. Google Scholar's searches are set to cover scholarly material more often than 'regular' Google. Read the article below on the advantages an disadvantages of using it. TIP: To get PDFs only, type in 'filetype:pdf'. It's great!
Advantages / Disadvantages of Google Scholar
Google Books can be very frustrating because often much of the book is missing and you are expected to purchase it to read the full content. So after you put in your search term you are interested in (eg biodiesel), and get some results up, you should then go immediately to the (on the left - above 'About this box')
and type in a particular word or term you are interested in (eg CO2 emissions OR methanol) you should get a number of pages pop up. Choose one that looks useful - you should get some good results this way!