History Extra - Alexander the Great: Life, facts, empire & legacy
Oxford Bibliographies - Alexander the Great - This site has useful historiography / source analysis
Alexander 3.3 Arrian's Sources
Alexander the Great by
An exciting series that provides students with direct access to the ancient world by offering new translations of extracts from its key texts. Alexander the Great famously brought the mighty Persian Empire's two-hundred year rule to an end, but the figure behind this phenomenon often eludes us. This book invites students to follow Alexander's remarkable story and to engage with a variety of perspectives on him as king, general and human being. Notes provide helpful contextual information for these excerpts while questions challenge readers to embark on their own investigations of this fascinating individual, who continues to rival all others in historical significance.
Alexander the Great by 
Alexander the Great by 
Alexander the Great by
The spectacular career of Alexander the Great represented a watershed in military history. After the assassination of his father, King Philip II, Alexander took command of a newly united kingdom that combined the military might of Macedonia and Greece. Perfecting new weapons and tactics pioneered by King Philip, the young Alexander led his forces into Asia, conquering the Persian Empire and campaigning across the face of the known world. This book examines the structure and organisation of Alexander's world-beating army, and traces the course of his epic campaigns. Combines material previously published as Men-at-Arms 148- 'The Army of Alexander the Great' and Campaign 7- 'Alexander 334-323 BC'.
Archimedes by
Archimedes of Syracuse (287 BCE-212 HCE) was so ahead of his time that even now we take many of his discoveries for granted. He calculated properties of circles, spheres, cylinders, and cones, writing equations that we still use today. He Calculated [ ] and came very close to discovering calculus, nearly heating Sir Isaac Newton by 2,000 years. He discovered why things float or sink. He learned why levers work. This creative genius saw math everywhere, from seashells to the fearsome war machines-like the catapult, missiles, and even a mirrored laser-he made to defend his hometown from Roman Navy. In the mind of this master of thought, math truly held the secrets to the universe. Book jacket.
Lives and legacies by 
Genius by
The light bulb. Antiseptic surgery. The World Wide Web. These inventions changed the world and introduced us to the masterminds of their time. "Genius," published in association with the Science Museum of London, gives readers unprecedented insight into the minds and lives of those who shaped the way we live today. This beautifully illustrated volume captures the excitement of the most important moments in the history of technology. Dozens of pull-out memorabilia include excerpted copies of notebooks, blueprints, patent applications, and diaries, and timelines explain the development of each invention.
Oxford Bibliographies - Ibn Sīnā - This site has useful historiography / source analysis
Project Gutenberg - A compendium on the Soul by Avicenna
Islamic Philosophy Online - Ibn Sina (Avicenna)
Kitāb al-Qānūn fī al-ṭibb (MS A 53 Folio 386b) (The Canon on Medicine) كتاب القانون فى الطب by Abū ‘Alī al-Ḥusayn ibn ‘Abd Allāh Ibn Sīnā known to Europeans as Avicenna (d. 1037/428 H). The illuminated opening of the fourth book. The text is written on a thin brown paper in small to very small nasta‘liq,with headings in naskh. Black ink with headings in red. frame of blue, black and red ink and gilt has been drawn around the text area; a larger frame of a single blue ink line is also on the bordering frame. Undated; probably Iran, beginning of 15th century.
Doctor Taking Woman's PulseDoctor taking woman's pulse. Avicenna's Canon manuscript. Canon of Medicine, al-qanun Fi-T-Tibb. Binding board of manuscript of Avicenna's Canon. Or Arabic MS 155 Lacquer 1632. Image: Wellcome Library, London.
Smithsonian - Rehabilitating Cleopatra
YouTube - Cleopatra - Queen
The Silk Road of the Mongols (Ch 5) - The coming of Genghis Khan
Oxford Bibliographies - Joan of Arc - This site has useful historiography / source analysis.
Sky History - Julius Caesar: Biography
Article from History Reference Centre Database: Qin - The First Unified Empire
Gale World History in Context - Qin Shi Huang (login with your BBC Microsoft account)
The Government of the Qin and Han Empires, 221 BCE-220 CE -
Ducksters - Ramses II
Gale World History in Context - Ramses II (login through your BBC Microsoft account)
Ancient Egypt Online: Ramses II a.k.a. Ramses the Great
World History Encyclopedia - Ramesses II
Great Temple of Ramses II. Colossal statues depicting the pharaoh Ramses II (1290-1224 BC.) Abu Simbel. Egypt.
Egyptian art. Great Temple of Ramses II. Colossal statues depicting the pharaoh Ramses II (1290-1224 BC. Abu Simbel. Egypt.. Photo. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
quest.eb.com/search/300_171049/1/300_171049/cite. Accessed 6 Jan 2021.
Colossal statues of Ramses II within Abu Simbel temple.
EGYPT: RAMSES II. - Colossal statues of Ramses II within Abu Simbel temple.. Fine Art. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.quest.eb.com/search/140_1666739/1/140_1666739/cite. Accessed 6 Jan 2021.
Mummified head of Egyptian Pharaoh Ramses II of 19th Dynasty.
RAMSES II: MUMMY. - Mummified head of Egyptian Pharaoh Ramses II of 19th Dynasty.. Fine Art. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.quest.eb.com/search/140_1669093/1/140_1669093/cite. Accessed 6 Jan 2021.
A modern replica of a Korean turtle-ship (kobukson), used by Admiral Yi Sun-sin in the Imjin Wars between Korea, China & Japan (1592-8 CE). The precise design is not known except that the deck was covered, perhaps using iron plating, and they were equipped with a smoke-spewing dragon's head, metal spikes to repel boarders and carried multiple canons. (War Memorial of Korea, Seoul)
The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Birtles Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.
Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Ancient and Medieval History) - This website has an excellent range of primary sources for both Ancient and Medieval history.
Features Plutarch, Aristotle, Casius Dio, Europides, Herodotus, Thucydides, etc.
Includes Plutarch, Thucydides, Herodotus etc.
World History Encyclopedia
Warlords of Republican Rome
The Early Chinese Empires
