Alpha History: Cold War propaganda
Journal of Cold War Studies: Hearts and minds - The unconventional Cold War
Journal of Cold War Studies: Soviet youth mobilisation and the Cuban Missile Crisis
University of Virginia dissertation: Defending a way of life - American propaganda and the Cold War 1945-1959
E-International Relations: US propaganda and the cultural cold war
Effectivology: Brinkmanship: Walking On the Edge as a Strategic Decision
McCarthyism - Political repression and the fear of communism (Social Research)
McCarthyism - Interpretations since Hofstadter (Wisconsin Magazine of History)
The Petrov Affair (Museum of Australian Democracy)
Congratulations on actions towards Mrs Petrov - Letter to Prime Minister Robert Menzies (PRIMARY SOURCE: National Archives of Australia)
How the Communist Party of Australia built a mass movement (Jacobin Magazine -Socialist Party)
How blind devotion to the Soviets put an end to communism’s Australian heyday (Sydney Morning Herald)
First Communist MLA - Paterson wins Bowen (The Guardian)
The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.
McCarthyism and the Red Scare - Accessed via History Reference Centre database.
Provides an absorbing overview of Senator Joseph McCarthy and his anti-Communist "witch hunts" of the 1950s. Also explores the ways in which the McCarthy era shaped the trajectory of American politics and culture for decades to come.
George Washington University: Afghanistan - Lessons From the Last War
Note where it says 'Jump to Documents' - this will take you to valuable primary source material.
Afghanistan: Anatomy of a Soviet Failure - Primary source, accessed via JSTOR database.
(Good general introduction & overview of espionage)
Spyweb – Cambridge Spies & other spies
Includes both KGB and CIA.
Google search: Britain - MI5 & MI6 - (M.I.5 handles domestic espionage and M.I.6 handles espionage abroad. Includes Roger Hollis)
Cambridge Spies | How Philby, Burgess, Maclean, Blunt and Cairncross were unmasked - Includes broadcast links
Soviet dictator Josef Stalin installed secret police services in all the satellite countries of Central and Eastern Europe. Trained by his NKVD, a predecessor of the KGB officers of the Polish UB, the Czech StB, the Hungarian AVO, Romania's Securitate, Bulgaria's KDS, Albania's Sigurimi and the Stasi of the German Democratic Republic spied on and ruthlessly repressed their fellow citizens on the Soviet model. When the resultant hatred exploded in uprisings they were put down by brutality, bloodshed and Soviet tanks. What was at first not so obvious was that these state terror organisations were also designed for military and commercial espionage in the West, to conceal the real case officers in Moscow. Specially trained operatives undertook 'wet jobs', including assassination of anti-Soviet figures. Perhaps the most menacing were the sleepers who settled in the West, married and had children while waiting to strike against their host countries.