Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 3: Fifth Century Athens (IA2)

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Socrates

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Socrates (469—399 B.C.E.)

Duquesne University: Socrates: A Research Guide

BigThink: Socratic problem: How Plato and other Greek writers invented Socrates

Masterclass: Who Was Socrates? A Look at the Philosopher’s Life and Impact

Primary Sources
Perseus: Xenophon: Apology of Socrates

Penn State University: Statues that speak

Brown University: Phidias (Pheidias) Archaeologies of the Greek Past

Fairfield University: Greek classical

Ohio University: Athenian History and Democracy in the Monumental Arts during the Fifth Century BC (Dissertation)

Acropolis

Brown University: Archaeologies of the Greek Past - Acropolis

Acropolis Infographic 

Ancient Athens.org: The Acropolis of ancient Athens

UNESCO: Acropolis, Athens

The monumental configuration of Athenian temporality: Space, identity and mnemonic trajectories of the Periklean building programme. (From Gale Academic OneFile)

Facts & Details - Parthenon: Its history, architecture and sculptures (this has info on the Acropolis as well)

Parthenon

Khan Academy: Destruction, Memory, and Monuments - The Many Lives of the Parthenon

The Parthenon

World History Encyclopedia: Parthenon

Facts & Details - Parthenon: Its history, architecture and sculptures

Khan Academy: Introduction to Greek Architecture 

Art Encyclopedia: Greek Architecture

The Met Museum, NY: Architecture in Ancient Greece

The flowering of Athens in the 5th Century B.C.

World History Encyclopedia: Greek Architecture - This information concerns all Greek architecture, so ensure you search carefully for information about Athens in the 5th century

Rhetoric and the Architecture of Empire in the Athenian Agora: Thesis for Master of Science in Architecture Studies at MIT. Read the chapter on Classical Athens pp.35-98.

The monumental configuration of Athenian temporality: Space, identity and mnemonic trajectories of the Periklean building programme. (From Gale Academic OneFile)

Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Art of Classical Greece

Khan Academy: Ancient Greek Art

The flowering of Athens in the 5th Century B.C.

The Met Museum, NY: The Art of Classical Greece (ca. 480–323 B.C.)

Oxford Classical Art Research Centre: The Classical period (5th - 4th century BC)

British Museum Blog: Historical city travel guide - Athens, 5th century BC

Classical Greece: The Golden Era (ca. 480–323 B.C.)

World History Encyclopedia: Ancient Greek Sculpture

 Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Art of Classical Greece (ca. 480–323 B.C.)

British Museum: Greek and Roman sculpture (+ virtual tour)

Primary Sources

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook - Greek Art

The History Guide: Pericles on Athenian Democracy

Agathe.gr: Democracy

Primary Sources
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Athenian Democracy

Artistotle: The Athenian Constitution

Stoa Consortia: Evidence for Athenian Democracy 

Source Exercise 1: The Athenian Empire 4 - Very useful for Democracy topic. Click on 'Find out more' at the bottom to see an explanation.

Source Exercise 5: The Athenian Empire 5 - Very useful for Democracy. Scroll down the article to Source 3 and then click on 'Find out more' at the bottom.

(Gods and heroes; Priests and seers; Altars and sacrifice; The afterlife; Apollo)

East Tennessee State University: The Function of Mythology and Religion in Ancient Greek Society

Festivals in Ancient Greece

The Met Museum NY: Greek Gods and Religious Festivals

Perseus Tufts - An Overview of Classical Greek History from Mycenae to Alexander

World History Encyclopedia - Daily Life in Ancient Greece

Devotionalism, Material Culture, and the Personal in Greek Religion

Primary Sources:

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook - Religion and Myth

Primary and Secondary Sources: Peloponnesian War

National Geographic: Peloponnesian War

Britannica: Peloponnesian War

World History Encyclopedia: Peloponnesian War

The Conversation: Guide to the classics: Thucydides’ History of the Peloponnesian War

Khan Academy: The Peloponnesian War

Peloponnesian Wars

Primary Sources

Thucydides: History of the Peloponnesian War

Livius (Ancient History site): Peloponnesian War

Perseus TUFTS: The Peloponnesian War and Athenian Life

World History Encyclopedia: Women in Ancient Greece 

The International Social Science Review: The Status of Women in Ancient Greece. Article accessed through JSTOR database.

Penn University - The Ancient Greek World: Women's Life - use the right arrow at the bottom to scroll through one more page

BBC History Magazine - Women In Ancient Greece: Lives, Facts, Work & Rights 

University of Chicago Press: Position of women in Athens in the 5th and 4th centuries. JSTOR database article.

Arts Magazine: Special on Ancient Mediterranean Painting - Targeted Advertising for Women in Athenian Vase-Painting of the Fifth Century BCE

The Met Museum, NY: Women in Classical Greece

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Gender and Sexuality

Primary Sources:

Classical Journal: The Position of Women in Classical Athens (JSTOR article)

Agathe.gr:  The Unenfranchised 1 - Women

From  Aristophanes' 'Lysistrata'
​“What matters that I was born a woman, if I can cure your misfortunes? I pay my share of tolls and taxes, by giving men to the State. But you, you miserable greybeards, you contribute nothing to the public charges; on the contrary, you have wasted the treasure of our forefathers, as it was called, the treasure amassed in the days of the Persian Wars. You pay nothing at all in return; and into the bargain you endanger our lives and liberties by your mistakes. Have you one word to say for yourselves?... Ah! don't irritate me, you there, or I'll lay my slipper across your jaws; and it's pretty heavy.”