Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 4: Roman Republic (IA3)

Useful Websites and Articles

The Roman Empire - The fall of the Roman Republic (Penn State University)
Lecture 26: Fall of the Roman Republic, 133-27 BC (Purdue University)
History Collection: Ancient Men of Power - The Roman Republic's Most Influential Leaders
The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Republic: The Crisis of the Republic
Epilogue: The Fall of the Roman Republic
By Crook, J. A ; Lintott, Andrew ; and Rawson, Elizabeth. Cambridge Ancient History, Cambridge 1994. Book Chapter. Discusses whether Rome declined or whether it was assassinated. Accessed via JSTOR database.
The Fall of the Roman Republic
By Ridley, RT, in Agora Magazine, March 2016, Vol.51(1), p.63-66. Accessed via History Reference Centre database. Excellent summary of the causes of the fall of the Roman Empire.

Data Sets

Data sets involve the integration of heterogeneous data in varying formats and from diverse communities. Four basic features can be identified as common to most definitions: grouping, content, relatedness, and purpose.

Famous Leaders of the Roman Republic

Was the claim that Tiberius Gracchus was a tyrant a valid one? (Penn State University)

Tiberius Gracchus and the fall of the Roman Republic (JSTOR)

Gracchi Brothers (UNRV Roman History)

The crisis of the Gracchi (Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools)

Tiberius Gracchus (Persius Primary Source)

Gaius Gracchus (Britannica Biographies)

Gaius Sempronius Gracchus — Decline of the Roman Republic (History of Yesterday)

Gracchi Brothers (UNRV) 

Notes on Gaius Gracchus (JSTOR) 

The crisis of the Gracchi (Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools)

Plutarch - The Life of Gaius Gracchu (Lacus Curtius Primary Source)

Lucius Cornelius Sulla Felix

Sulla (World History Encyclopedia)

Sulla (UNRV)

Sulla's reforms as dictator (World History Encyclopedia)

Lucius Cornelius Sulla: Guardian or Enemy of the Roman Republic? (World History Encyclopedia)

Sulla Lucius Cornelius
From Ancient and Medieval History database. Originally from From: Dictators and Tyrants. By: Alan Axelrod; Charles L. Phillips Published: 1994.

Sulla 
Article from Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome ebook. By Matthew Bunson, 2012, published by Infobase Publishing.

Sulla: Playing offence - A deeper look into the motivations and significance of Sulla's march on Rome
Accessed via JSTOR database.

Playing Offence: A Deeper Look into the Motivations and Significance of Sulla's March on Rome
Accessed via JSTOR database.

University of Chicago: PLutarch - The Life of Sulla

Cover Art Sulla (Ebook)

Sulla is often considered a major catalyst in the death of the republican system. He was an ambitious general whose feud with a rival (Marius) led to his marching on Rome with an army at his back, leading to civil war and the terrible internecine bloodletting of the proscriptions. In these things, and in his appropriation of the title of dictator with absolute power, he set a dangerous precedent to be followed by Julius Caesar a generation later. Lynda Telford believes Sulla's portrayal as a monstrous, brutal tyrant is unjustified. While accepting that he was responsible for much bloodshed, she contends that he was no more brutal than many of his contemporaries who have received a kinder press. Moreover, even his harshest measures were motivated not by selfish ambition but by genuine desire to do what he believed best for Rome. The author believes the bias of the surviving sources, and modern biographers, has exaggerated the ill-feeling towards Sulla in his lifetime. After all, he voluntarily laid aside dictatorial power and enjoyed a peaceful retirement without fear of assassination. The contrast to Caesar is obvious. Lynda Telford gives a long overdue reappraisal of this significant personality, considering such factors as the effect of his disfiguring illness. The portrait that emerges is a subtle and nuanced one; her Sulla is very much a human, not a monster.

Gnaeus Pompeius Magnus

Cover Art Warlords of Republican Rome

EBOOK: The war between Caesar and Pompey was one of the defining moments in Roman history. The clash between these great generals gripped the attention of their contemporaries and it has fascinated historians ever since. These powerful men were among the dominant personalities of their age, and their struggle for supremacy divided Rome. In this original and perceptive study Nic Fields explores the complex, often brutal world of Roman politics and the lethal rivalry of Caesar and Pompey that grew out of it. He reconsiders them as individuals and politicians and, above all, as soldiers.

Cover ArtWarlords of Republican Rome

EBOOK: The war between Caesar and Pompey was one of the defining moments in Roman history. The clash between these great generals gripped the attention of their contemporaries and it has fascinated historians ever since. These powerful men were among the dominant personalities of their age, and their struggle for supremacy divided Rome. In this original and perceptive study Nic Fields explores the complex, often brutal world of Roman politics and the lethal rivalry of Caesar and Pompey that grew out of it. He reconsiders them as individuals and politicians and, above all, as soldiers.

Marcus Tullius Cicero

Cicero (UNRV)
Cicero's Role in the Fall of the Roman Republic
By Swain, Edward J. San Diego State University, ProQuest Dissertations Publishing, 2014. PhD thesis accessed via JSTOR database.
The Philosophical and Political Decline of Rome according to Cicero (CoffeeShop Thinking)

Cover Art Cicero

EBOOK: As the greatest Roman orator of his time, Cicero delivered over one hundred speeches in the law courts, in the senate and before the people of Rome. He was also a philosopher, a patriot and a private man. While his published speeches preserve scandalous accounts of the murder, corruption and violence that plagued Rome in the first century BC, his surviving letters give an exceptional glimpse into Cicero's own personality and his reactions to events as they unravelled around him - events, he thought, which threatened to destabilize the system of government he loved and establish a tyranny over Rome. From his rise to power as a self-made man, Cicero's career took him through the years of Sulla, and the civil war between Pompey and Caesar, to his own last fig

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Oliver Library Catalogue

Oliver Library Catalogue

APA 7 Referencing for Ancient History

The Fall of the Roman Republic (Ebook chapter)

Useful Databases

Possible Research Questions and Sample Response