Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You must plan a mission to an allocated place in the solar system.
Please note all the different kinds of support material and sources available for you here. You should easily be able to ensure that you use a variety of sources (book, website, database material etc) in your List of References.
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.
Oliver Library Catalogue
Oliver Library Catalogue
Look here for books, eBooks, DVDs and websites.
Useful Library Books
Air and Space Travel
Call Number: 629.109 WOO
Contents:Table of contents: I wish I could fly -- Lighter than air -- Heavier than air -- Reaching for the sky -- The age of speed -- Sky cruisers -- Spinning around -- War in the air -- Blast off! -- Space race -- Uncrewed vessels -- Space flight today -- Mission of the future. -Summary: Outlines the development of air and space travel, from the winged flight of a monk in the year 1000 to modern fighter jets and helicopters.
Out of This World
Call Number: 629.45 JON
Discover everything you need to know about space travel. Out of this World is rocket science made easy. Find out what astronauts wear and how they live in space. Learn about planet exploration, moon landings, space stations and future missions including holidays in space.
Call Number: 629.4 GOU
Photographs from NASA coupled with artist's renderings of faraway planets beautifully illustrate the reaches of space, both near and far. Covers everything from the first rockets to landing on the Moon to new knowledge of other planets to what a colony on Mars would look like.
Databases We recommend the following for this assignment:
When you are away from the campus you will need to login using the appropriate username and password - from a document emailed to you this year.
Introducing the Planets and Their Moons
Peter Cattermole describes the characteristics and geological development of the eight large planetary bodies and their more substantial moons. This includes discussion of their orbital properties, magnetic fields, atmospheres and mutual interactions.
Titan : The Earth-Like Moon by
Titan is one of the most mysterious bodies in the solar system. The largest satellite of the giant planet Saturn, Titan is itself larger than the planet Mercury, and is unique in being the only known moon with a thick atmosphere. In addition, its atmosphere bears a startling resemblance to the Earth's, but is much colder.
Jupiter's ice moon Europa is widely regarded as the most likely place to find accessible extraterrestrial life. This book tells the engaging story of Europa, the oceanic moon. It features a large number of stunning images of the ocean moon's surface, clearly displaying the spectacular crack patterns, extensive rifts and ridges, and refrozen pools of exposed water filled with rafts of displaced ice. Coverage also features firsthand accounts of Galileo's mission to Jupiter and its moons.
The Mighty Mars Rovers
On June 10, 2003, a little rover named Spirit blasted off on a rocket headed for Mars. On July 7, 2003, a twin rover named Opportunity soared through the solar system with the same mission: to find out if Mars ever had water that could have supported life. The Mighty Mars Rovers tells the greatest space robot adventure of all time through the eyes—and heart—of Steven Squyres, professor of astronomy at Cornell University and lead scientist on the mission.
Why Mars? NASA and the Politics of Space Exploration
Analyses the history of the robotic Mars exploration program from its origins to today. W. Henry Lambright examines the politics and policies behind NASA's multi-decade quest, illuminating the roles of key individuals and institutions along with their triumphs and defeats.