Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Year 12: Term 1: Hazardous Processes & Materials

Term 2: Cold War

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Web Links


RISK or HAZARD ASSESSMENT

Geoscience Australia: Hazards

Office of   Environmental Health Hazards Assessment:Risk Assessment for the Layperson

World   Bank: Hazard Risk Management

Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery

United Nations Development Program: Disaster Risk Assessment

United   Nations Economic & Social Commission for Asia/Pacific:Risk Evaluation   for Hazard Management

Centre for Hazards   and Risk Research ( Columbia University)

Natural   Disasters and Assessing Hazards and Risks

Global Risk Data Platform

EARTHQUAKES
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program

National Earthquake Information Centre

VOLCANOES
US Geological Survey: Volcano Hazards Program

Volcano World

RADIOACTIVITY
World Nuclear   Association: Country Briefings

eNotes: Radioactivity


NATURAL HAZARDS AND DISASTERS
Excellent. Includes disaster and hazard profiles for particular countries.
International   Strategy for Disaster Reduction 
         
The US Geological Survey: Natural Hazards

The US Geological Survey: Geohazards Science Centre

Centre for Geohazard Studies, University of Buffalo

World   Bank: Disaster Data Highlight Global Risks

Natural   Disaster Profiles for Indian Ocean Countries

Geoscience Australia: Natural   Hazards

Intute Earth Sciences:   Natural Hazards

Natural Hazards.org

ECI:Geohazards

NASA: Natural   Hazards

Pacific Disaster   Centre

Vanuatu Geohazards Observatory

Geohazards International

TRAVEL SITES
Australian Government  Smart Traveller: Travel Advisories

C.I.A. World Factbook

US Dept. of  Health & Human Services: Natural Disasters and Environmental Hazards   (including radiation)

Lonely Planet   Guides

Travelocity

Fodor's Travel Guide

Frommer's Travel Guide

Virtual Tourist.com

Rough Guides Travel

SPECIFIC COUNTRIES
Alaska

ThinkHazard: Alaska

USGS: Alaska Science Center

Seagrant: Overview - Earthquakes and Tsunamis in Alaska

Indonesia

ThinkHazard: Indonesia

Indonesia: Disaster Management Reference Handbook 2018

ReliefWeb: Indonesia Disaster Management Reference Handbook 2015

UN Office For Disaster Risk Reduction: Indonesia

Turkey

ThinkHazard: Turkey

Turkey

Chile

ThinkHazard: Chile

ReliefWeb: Disaster Management Reference Handbook 2017

Hawaii

ThinkHazard: Hawaii

Iceland

ThinkHazard: Iceland

ReliefWeb: Iceland

PreventionWeb: Iceland

Japan

ThinkHazard: Japan

UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction: Japan

New Zealand

ThinkHazard: New Zealand

Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management: New Zealand

Sri Lanka

ThinkHazard: Sri Lanka

Venezuela

ThinkHazard: Sri Lanka

ReliefWeb: Venezuela

Mitigation of Geohazards in Indonesia

The Task

You are an insurance assessor commissioned to prepare a hazardous processes and materials risk assessment report for a selected country (to be given to you by your teacher)

The hazard assessment indicates where each type of hazard could occur, giving reasons why and indicates the probability and severity of hazardous events based on the past. Consider earthquakes, volcanic hazards, tsunamis, mass wasting, subsidence, flooding, ocean hazards, and weather and climate hazards. Maps of your country / region can be used to show where each type of hazard is significant.

You should also discuss the possibility of any part of that region being exposed to dangerous levels of radioactivity, for whatever reason.

The risk assessment indicates what life and property is threatened. You must judge whether the risks are low, moderate or high. 

List of Countries/ Regions to choose from:

Bangladesh

Central Pacific Islands

China

Italy

Mexico

Philippines

Thailand

Caribbean Islands

Chile

Indonesia

Japan

New Zealand

South Pacific Islands

United States

Vanuatu

Search Terms for the Catalogue or the Web

Use the following terms for resources  on the web. Choose terms that will be relevant to the disaster that you are investigating eg you will be assigned a country/state to investigate (Turkey, Philippines, Indonesia, Peru, Japan, New Zealand, Italy, Cyprus/Greece/Alaska, Hawaii, Caribbean/West Indies), so that could be:

Natural disasters Hawaii or 
Natural disasters vulnerability 
or 
Natural hazards (+ Country)   
Natural hazards risk assessment (+ Country)
eg Peru or whichever country you have been assigned or  
Bangladesh flooding planning
or Alaska hazards  
Disaster management + Country
or  
Seismo-watch or Seismicity
(ie Significant seismic events + the  country that they might have occurred in eg. Indonesia, Japan, Turkey)

Useful Library Books

We have a large selection of Lonely Planet travel guides, of which the book below on Indonesia is an example. There should be some information on the landscape of these countries which will help you with your assignment.

Databases

We recommend the following databases for this assignment. They are already available through the ONESearch box on the left. 
When you are away from the campus you will need to login using the appropriate username and password - available on Student Portal > Student Coneqt > My BBC > Library Databases.

How to Write a Report

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography