Brisbane Boys' College Library: Year 12: Term 4: Poisons and Toxins

Useful Library Books - Come and Check Them Out!

Casarett and Doull's Toxicology
Acknowledged as the best book in the field, this covers the following topics: Arsenic
Keratins
Calcitonin
Solvents
Methyl bromide
Ciguatera poisoning
Metals
Asbestos
Asbestosis
Mushroom poisoning
Lead poisoning
Cadmium
Chromium
Silver
Thalidomide
Lead
Cocaine
Abalone poisoning
Mercury (Metal)
Methyl mercury
Herbicides
Beryllium
Fluorine
Nickel
Mercury poisoning
Fish poisoning
Pesticides
Fungicides
Poisons, Their Effects and Detection - A Manual for the Use of Analytical Chemists and Experts.
A reproduction of an excellent book originally published in 1923.
The Poison Paradox
Toxicologist John Timbrell explores the dark side of chemistry - how the chemicals that we use and that occur all around us can often be beneficial and yet under other circumstances can become poisons.
The Dose Makes the Poison
Includes heavy focus on industrial chemicals as toxicants as well as cosmetics and other types of compounds that people are exposed to daily.
Poisons and Antidotes: An A-Z Guide
A complete guide to all types of poisons, how they work, and the antidotes that counteract them.
The Forensic Aspects of Poisons
Introduces students to the basic principles of forensic toxicology and the role of poisons in forensic science.
Poisons: from Hemlock to Botox and the Killer Bean Calabar
A wide-ranging and provocative look at how poisons permeate our world.

How To Write In-Text References for Science

In-Text Referencing for Science

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Birtles Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Oliver Library Catalogue

Look here for books, eBooks, DVDs and websites.

Useful Databases

Access Science This link opens in a new window
STEM Database This link opens in a new window
From Proquest. IF YOU ARE OFF-CAMPUS, PLEASE SCROLL DOWN AND CLICK ON 'SHOW MORE DETAIL' WHERE YOU SHOULD INSERT THE PASSWORDS YOU HAVE BEEN SENT IN AN EMAIL FROM THE HEAD OF LIBRARY.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Facts on File : Science Online This link opens in a new window
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Cosmos This link opens in a new window
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window

Useful Articles

Useful Ebooks - Use Your Student Number to Access!

The Encyclopedia of Poisons and Antidotes
An encyclopedic collection of resources for understanding and coping with the complexities of modern health and social concerns. It provides an objective overview of the essential facts and wider social ramifications that have been established by experts about the afflictions covered.
Drugs, Poisons, and Chemistry
Presents information on the forensic science used to analyze drugs, poisons, and other chemical evidence
Phytomedicines, Herbal Drugs, and Poisons
Presents information on the forensic science used to analyze drugs, poisons, and other chemical evidence
King of Poisons by John Parascandola
For centuries, arsenic's image as a poison has been inextricably tied to images of foul play. In King of poisons, John Parascandola examines the surprising history of this deadly element.

Advanced Web Searching Tips

1. Use 'Ctrl F' (Control + Find) to search for particular terms easily in a long document, whether from a website or a database article.

2. Use a Boolean command - put double inverted commas around phrases to limit and improve your results eg "energy drinks cardiovascular problems children".

3. Use a Google domain command eg site:edu OR site:gov to limit results to a CERTAIN DOMAIN such as education or government eg biodiesel site:edu

4. Use a Google command to limit results to the MOST RECENT: After you get your results, choose the Google Menu Bar, and choose 'Tools'. Then on the far left, at the drop-down menu next to 'Any Time', you can choose 'Within the last year' (or less, if you prefer), but generally, you can choose 'Custom Range' at the bottom, as often the last 3-4 years would be sufficient for a recent search.