Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Books and Reading: Book Trailers

Here you can find new books, favourite authors and much more. This is your guide to what is in the collection at Brisbane Boys' College.

Book Trailers

Upload completed Book Trailer movies

1) Ensure your Movie Maker project is saved as a movie (MP4)

2) Save your movie file as your name FirstNameLastName  eg  ThomasSmith

3) Use the appropriate class link below to upload your file

Book Trailers - Publisher examples

In-class tutorial - save files to a folder on your own laptop

Free video/music/sound effects

Movie Maker tutorial

Use the Search Box on your laptop to find the Movie Maker Desktop App.  Right click on the Movie Maker App and pin to your Task Bar for ease of access.

Book Trailers can be displayed on screens around the school.  As sound will not be played on these screens, it is recommended that you use text to support the images/video which make-up your book trailer..  

Book Trailer Hints

  • PreparationIn the preparation stage, consider what makes your book compelling and unique. Decide what is most important to show about the book, considering aspects such as main characters' personalities, setting, main conflict, theme, symbols, voice, and mood. Storyboard your ideas out and write a script. What visual images/video can be sourced to tell the story.  Always ensure the digital content you are downloading for use in your book trailer is offered free of charge and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.  See the links offered on this page.
  • Make it brief: Attracting and keeping the viewer’s interest is essential.  Think carefully about the length of time each image or section of video or animation will appear and keep your book trailer between 1 and 2 minutes.
  • Keep it real:  Don’t summarise the plot as the trick is to convey a sense of what the book is about without giving anything away and without really clearly defining what the characters look like.  If you’re not sure what you’d like to write about the book, consider using quotes from the book.
  • Create a sense of anticipation:  You want to grab people's attention from the beginning so you need to start strong with something engaging. A question or quote from the book can work well.  Let the image and music sell the story for you.  Add text, but not too much.  Try to create suspense by providing hints and using cliffhangers (a plot device in which an unknown ending leaves the audience in suspense).
  • Create good pace: Once the music, images, and text are in, play with different font styles, video transitions, photo effects, text transitions, etc. to create the overall effect required . What method of changing from one scene to the next do you want to employ? Don’t go overboard with the effects and transitions.  I recommend using one effect (like fading).   The pace needs to keep the audience interested but should also allow them ample time to view each scene and read captions.
  • Tap into emotions:  Think about good movie trailers, since most people are more familiar with those. What made you want to go see the movie? Did the intensity build as the trailer progressed? Music in the background adds interest and emotion. Did the music quicken, or become foreboding?
  • Finish strong: Finish with a cliffhanger and NEVER give away the ending. Start or conclude your book trailer with an image of the book to ensure the audience is aware of the book's title and author.  On the last slide of your trailer, be sure to give credit for all of the content that you used (quotes, images, music).  DON’T FORGET TO INCLUDE YOUR NAME.  For example:  Created by (your name), (Class),