Skip to Main Content

Year 8: T2: Shogunate Japan

Shogunate Japan

1. Tokugawa Shogunate

Encyclopedia Britannica - Tokugawa Status System
StoryMaps: How was the Tokugawa Shogunate able to establish and maintain control over Japanese society?

Britannica: The Tokugawa status system

Britannica: Tokugawa period

Khan Academy: Tokugawa Shogunate - Scroll down to 'Society under the Tokugawa Shogunate'

Columbia Uni - Tokugawa Japan: The social classes - Scroll through the next few pages

Thought.Co - Overview of the Tokugawa Shogunate of Japan

Britannica Kids - Tokugawa period

World History Encyclopedia - Feudalism in Medieval Japan - Use Ctrl + F - and search the word 'Tokugawa' to find the military information
Khan Academy: Tokugawa Shogunate - Scroll down to 'Society under the Tokugawa Shogunate'
Britannica - Tokugawa Ieyasu - scroll down to 'Mastery of Japan of Tokugawa Ieyasu'
History.Com - Tokugawa Ieyasu
Gettysburg College - Tokugawa samurai: Values and lifestyle transition - A long article so read the abstract and then choose which of any of the headings might be useful 
Thought.Co - Overview of the Tokugawa Shogunate of Japan
Guided History - The fall of the samurai in late Tokugawa Japan
Tokugawa Period - Article from database 'World History in Context', by Gale.
Nakasendo Way: Tokugawa Political System
World History in Context (database): Tokugawa Shogunate political system - Gives clear outline of the development of Samurai through different shogunates.

Britannica Kids - Tokugawa period

Unification

The Tokugawa Shogunate 
Khan Academy: Tokugawa Shogunate - Scroll down to 'A unified Japan'

Columbia University - Tokugawa Japan - click through the following pages as well.

Isolation Policy

The Seclusion of Japan: Closed Country Edict 1635
The Edo Period - 1603-1868
How Did Isolation Affect Japan?

The Seclusion of Japan
What Caused Japan's Policy of Isolation?
In Deep - The Isolation of Japan
ABC's Splash - The End of Japan's Isolation
Impact of Japanese Isolation and Effect on Culture and Theatre
Tokugawa and Isolation
Japan - Decline of the Tokugawa
ABC Splash: The End of Japan's Isolation
ABC Splash: Tokugawa Shogunate is Overthrown
Japan Guide - Japanese History - Meiji Period
Why the Japanese Couldn't Leave Their Country for Two Centuries

Columbia Uni - Tokugawa Japan: Order in international relations - isolation

Khan Academy - Tokugawa Shogunate - scroll down to 'Was Japan a closed country'

2. Significant leaders

3. Samurai

US History - Feudal Japan: The Age of the Warrior
Weapons & warfare - Samurai: The warrior class of feudal Japan
National Library of Australia - Life under the shoguns
History Skills - Feudal Japanese society explained
Thought.Co - Facts about Class Identity in Feudal Japan
Thought.Co - The four tiered class sytem of feudal Japan
A History of Yesterday - From Samurai to Shogun: The Rise and Fall of Feudal Japan
War history online - Samurai, ninja, ronin, and more – Seven different warrior classes of feudal Japan
How Stuff Works - How samurai work
Inside Japan - Japanese culture: samurai

Key battles 

War History Online - Eleven of the greatest samurai battles of history
History Collection - Strength and honour: 7 of the greatest samurai battles of all time
History of Fighting - The samurai at war
Tokyo Weekender - Famous samurai battles and conflicts
Sekigahara – Japan’s Greatest Samurai Battle
GaijinPot - Visit the sites of Japan's historic battles
Visit Omi - Historical omi: The province of samurai battles, castles and warriors 
Samurai History - What are some famous samurai battles in Japan?

 

Training

Facts and Details: Samurai Training - Scroll down to 'Samurai Training'
SportsRec: Ancient Japanese Samurai training methods
Japan: Memoirs of a secret empire
Tampere: Childhood and samurai training
Chapter-15-Japan-under-the-shoguns - scroll down to p.12 of the PDF
How Stuff Works: How Samurai Works
World History Encyclopedia: Samurai 
The Aikido FAQ: The development and psychology of bushido and budo
The samurai code: Unveiling bushido's influence on Japanese warrior ethos
How Stuff Works: How wamurai work 
Facts and Details: Samurai weapons - Scroll right down to 'Samurai weapons' 
History Hit: 6 weapons of the Japanese Samurai 
War History Online: The equipment of the samurai – Fearsome warriors armed to the teeth 
Facts and Details: Samurai armour - Scroll down to 'Samurai armour'
My Learning: A suit of armour to terrify the enemy 
War History Online: The equipment of the samurai
The Japanese Samurai: The armour of the Samurai
History Hit: 6 weapons of the Japanese samurai
Armour, helmets and shields in Medieval Japan - From the book 'Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan', by William E. Deal, 2005, Infobase Publishing, New York 

eBooks via the Catalogue

Databases

When you are away from the campus you will need to login using the appropriate username and password - these were sent to you in an email from Ms King which you should have saved for when you needed to access databases from home.

MyBib Referencing Generator

Manage your bibliography using "MyBib" - Referencing - LibGuides at Melbourne High School

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

NOTE: 

  • Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.
  • Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.
  • Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.