Brisbane Boys' College Library: Year 10: Term 2: Hitler and Nazi Germany

Useful Websites

Propaganda chapter From text 'Weimar and Nazi Germany' by John Hite and Chris Hinton.
ISBN: 0719573432

Facing History: Visual essay - the impact of propaganda

Calvin College: Nazi Propaganda

Slate: How Hitler Conquered Germany

Nazi and East German Propaganda Page Guide

Holocaust Museum: Nazi Propaganda

History Learning Site: Propaganda in Nazi Germany

Holocaust Research Project: Nazi Propaganda

Hitler Youth: Usefulness to the Nazis

History Learning Site: Hitler Youth

The History Place: Hitler Youth

Nazi Youth Ceremonies

Florida Center for Instructional Technology: Nazi Terror

Holocaust.com: The Final Solution

Jewish Virtual Library: Holocaust

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Holocaust Cybrary

The Holocaust Explained

Monash University - links to Holocaust and Genocide websites

Yad Vashem - World Holocaust Remembrance Centre

Alpha History: The Holocaust

Nazi Germany - Schutzstaffel

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: The S.S.

Nazi Germany - Schutzstaffel

Fordham Uni: Nazi Attacks on the Churches

Hitler was a charismatic politician, brilliant at articulating the fears and desires of the people.

The History Place: The Rise of Adolf Hitler

The Fuhrer Myth: How Hitler Won Over the German People

BBC: His dark charisma

Relevant Rhetoric: The key to Hitler's rhetoric

Stalingrad: Hitler's nemesis
By Frederic F. Clairmont, Economic and Political Weekly, Vol. 38, No. 27 (Jul. 5-11, 2003), pp. 2819-2823.

Suggested websites with Primary Sources

The Poisonous Mushroom (Der Giftpilz) - Calvin College
Publication of Julius Streicher’s publishing house. It was aimed particularly at kids, and was sometimes used in the schools
German History in documents and images
Comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history.
Schaffer University : Links to Primary Sources
Links to Holocaust and Propaganda sites
Rare Historical Photographs
Searchable database
Getty Images : Third Reich
Also links to photographs of Hitler and Germany.
Calvin College : Nazi Propaganda
Nazi Propaganda: 1933-1945
Holocaust Research Project : Nazi Propaganda
Holocaust Museum : Nazi Propaganda
Yad Vashem - Digital Collections
Brigham Young University : Primary Sources
Germany: National Socialism and World War II

Essay Planning Mind Map

Planning Mindmap - Blank
Planning Mind Map 1: Nazi Methods of Consolidating Power in Germany
This is a sample of how you could plan your essay.
Planning Mind Map 2: Women in Nazi Germany
Here is another example of how you could plan your essay. You MUST construct one of these before you attempt to write the essay within your PEEL template.

Useful Databases

If you are off-campus, and are having difficulty logging in, please use the Database Passwords document previously emailed to you by your Head of Library.

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Writing Tips

MyBib Referencing Generator

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

NOTE:

Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.
Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.
Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.

MyBib - 'How to' Guide

PEEAL Method for Writing Your Essay

PEEAL Blank Template for Nazi Germany
Save this Word document to organise your essay, inserting your background, argument or hypothesis, main points (signposting), elaboration, examples, links and a little of your conclusion.
PEEL Template: Women in Nazi Germany
Check out this PEEL essay structure on Women in Nazi Germany to see how you should set your essay out.

Useful Ebooks from the Catalogue

We now have many ebooks on Nazi Germany. Specific ones include: The Treaty of Versailles, Auschwitz, The Dresden Bombing, Hitler Youth, Berlin Olympics, Josef Mengele, Operation Barbarossa and more.

To find them, go to the Oliver catalogue in the box on the left and type in your preferred search term. any ebooks will have the green 'ebook' icon attached to them.

The Treaty of Versailles
The five separate treaties produced by the Peace Conference, and particularly the most famous one, the Treaty of Versailles with Germany, have been widely criticized over the years, primarily because they led to the rise of Nazi Germany and the Second World War a generation later. Nonetheless, faced with the overwhelming task of bringing order to a world shattered by four years of bitter fighting, the Paris delegates were convinced that they had fashioned a just and lasting peace. In The Treaty of Versailles, read how world leaders struggled to deal with the aftermath of the War to End All Wars.
A Brief History of the Third Reich
Tells not just the account of the men who rose to the fore in the dangerous days of the Weimar republic, circling around the cult of personality generated by Adolf Hitler, but also an overview of how ordinary Germans became seduced by the dreams of a new world order, the Third Reich. The book also gives an insight into the everyday life in Germany during the Second World War and explores key questions such as how much did the Germans know about the Holocaust and why did the regime eventually fail so disastrously?
The SS
The SS grew out of Adolf Hitler and Heinrich Himmler's obsession to prevent the treachery they believed to have caused the German defeat in the First World War. The SS was to be an elite corps of politically aware soldiers whose primary aim was to prevent the undermining of the Nazi Party by rendering its potential enemies harmless. This disturbing story reveals not only the inner workings of the SS, but its paramount role in the mass murder of Europe's Jews, homosexuals and gypsies, its organisation of the death squads and the military campaigns undertaken by the Waffen SS.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
Includes Auschwitz; Gestapo; Goebbels; Goring; Himmler; Hitler; Holocaust; Krystallnacht; Mengele; Nazi Labour Camps; Nuremberg Trials
Holocaust by Martin Gitlin
An examination of the Holocaust from its inception to the liberation of the concentration camps and the war crimes trials at Nuremberg and elsewhere.
Auschwitz
The books in this series also explore the wider history of the particular era of event with which each site is linked, be it World War II, the Cold War, the Holocaust, or the War on Terror. Auschwitz examines the history of the infamous Nazi death camp-how it came to be built and how it was used. The book places the story of Auschwitz in the wider context of the Holocaust, explaining the origins of Nazi policies towards the Jews and describing the ghettos, the mass shootings, and the network of death camps in occupied Poland. In conclusion, it shows how Auschwitz is remembered today. Book jacket.
Auschwitz: The Nazi Solution
The camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau were an important part of the Nazis' final solution to the Jewish question. Over one million people were murdered in its gas chambers and tens of thousands of prisoners were worked to death in the nearby sub-camps. This is the story of the development of Auschwitz into a concentration camp, and a thorough account of the building of Birkenau and the gas chambers, which grew into industrial killing machines. Rawson relates what life was like for prisoners, how prisoners struggled to survive on a poor diet and no health care; how they faced a grinding daily routine with frequent punishments; and how the camps were organized.
Hitler Youth, 1922-1945
During the Nazi regime's swift rise to power, no single target of nazification took higher priority than Germany's young people. Well aware that the Nazi party could thrive only through the support of future generations, Hitler instituted a youth movement, the Hitler Jugend (Hitler Youth), which indoctrinated the easily malleable students of Germany's schools and universities. Along with its female counterpart, the Bund deutscher Madel (League of German Girls), the Hitler Youth produced many thousands of young Germans who were deeply and fanatically imbued with the Nazi racist ideology.
Nazi Propaganda
The time of the Third Reich is one of the ugliest periods in human history. To execute Adolph Hitler's plan to destroy all Jewish people in Europe, Nazi propagandists demonized and dehumanized the Jews, leaving people desensitized to the discrimination and destruction heaped on them. This book details the way the Nazis turned a nation against a people, provides sidebars on people caught up in both sides of the great conflict, and outlines the ramifications of the persecution of the Jews.

Year 10: Term 2: Hitler and Nazi Germany

Useful Websites

der Spiegel: The Story Behind Hitler's Rise to Power

BBC Bitesize: Nazi Germany

Nazi Germany (alphahistory.com)

Nazism

Fordham Uni: National Socialism

Propaganda chapter From text 'Weimar and Nazi Germany' by John Hite and Chris Hinton.
ISBN: 0719573432

Facing History: Visual essay - the impact of propaganda

Calvin College: Nazi Propaganda

Slate: How Hitler Conquered Germany

Nazi and East German Propaganda Page Guide

Holocaust Museum: Nazi Propaganda

History Learning Site: Propaganda in Nazi Germany

Holocaust Research Project: Nazi Propaganda

Holocaust.com: The Final Solution

Jewish Virtual Library: Holocaust

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Holocaust Cybrary

The Holocaust Explained

Monash University - links to Holocaust and Genocide websites

Yad Vashem - World Holocaust Remembrance Centre

Hitler was a charismatic politician, brilliant at articulating the fears and desires of the people.

The History Place: The Rise of Adolf Hitler

The Fuhrer Myth: How Hitler Won Over the German People

BBC: His dark charisma

Relevant Rhetoric: The key to Hitler's rhetoric

Suggested websites with Primary Sources

Essay Planning Mind Map

Useful Databases

Writing Tips

MyBib Referencing Generator

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.

Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.

Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.

PEEAL Method for Writing Your Essay

Useful Ebooks from the Catalogue

Year 10: Term 2: Hitler and Nazi Germany

Useful Websites

Propaganda chapter From text 'Weimar and Nazi Germany' by John Hite and Chris Hinton. ISBN: 0719573432

Hitler was a charismatic politician, brilliant at articulating the fears and desires of the people. The History Place: The Rise of Adolf Hitler The Fuhrer Myth: How Hitler Won Over the German People

Suggested websites with Primary Sources

Essay Planning Mind Map

Useful Databases

Writing Tips

MyBib Referencing Generator

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.

Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.

Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.

PEEAL Method for Writing Your Essay

Useful Ebooks from the Catalogue

Propaganda chapter From text 'Weimar and Nazi Germany' by John Hite and Chris Hinton.
ISBN: 0719573432

Hitler was a charismatic politician, brilliant at articulating the fears and desires of the people.

The History Place: The Rise of Adolf Hitler

The Fuhrer Myth: How Hitler Won Over the German People