Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Year 9: Tectonic Activity in New Zealand

C.R.A.A.P. Test for Evaluating Websites

Check the quality of your websites using these criteria (adapted from QUT Library):

Currency: Timeliness of the information

  • When was the information published, posted or last updated?
  • Is the information current for your topic and field of study? How recent does it have to be? Can older sources work just as well?
Relevance: Importance of the information for your needs
  • Is the information appropriate for a senior secondary course?
  • Is this an adequately in-depth examination or a quick summary of the topic?
  • Who's the intended audience? Is it the general public, a student, a researcher or industry?
  • Is the level of information too basic or too advanced for your needs?

Authority: Source of the information

  • Is the author/authoring body (individual person, or institution, or organisation) established and reputable?
  • Are their qualifications, credentials, expertise, experience, educational background and previous work (if any) relevant and do they add credibility to the source?
  • Has the piece been published by a well-known and respected publisher or organisation?
  • Do references to other sources support the writing ie is a Bibliography or Reference List provided?

Accuracy: Reliability and correctness of the information

  • Where does the information come from, and is it supported by evidence?
  • Does it have a Reference List or Bibliography so you can easily find and verify the sources used?
  • Are there any spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose: Reason the information exists

  • What is the purpose of the information? Why was it written?
  • Does the point of view appear objective, unbiased and impartial?
  • Is the viewpoint of the author's affiliation/ sponsors reflected in the message or content?
  • Does the author acknowledge alternative versions of the issues or facts?

ONESearch Database Explorer

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Research Investigation Tips

Sample Rationale

MyBib Referencing Generator - APA 7

Manage your bibliography using "MyBib" - Referencing - LibGuides at  Melbourne High School

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.

Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.

How to Reference an Image in Your Essay

Useful Websites

General Websites

Tectonic Plates / Boundaries of New Zealand
GNS: Tectonic Plates and Plate Boundaries New Zealand

GNS: Earthquakes at a Plate Boundary in New Zealand

GNS: Plate Collision in New Zealand

GNS: Earthquakes and Faults

Science Learning Hub NZ: Plate Tectonics, Volcanoes and Earthquakes 

Te Ara - Encyclopedia of New Zealand: Active Faults

GNS: Alpine Fault of New Zealand

New Zealand sits across two continental plates, and White Island is just one of its many volcanoes 

From Australia New Zealand Reference Centre database

New Scientist: The Tectonic Forces That Are Shredding New Zealand 

Origins of the Islands: New Zealand's Geological History

From Australia / New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre database, 2007.

Frequency and Magnitude of Earthquakes in New Zealand
GNS: New Zealand Earthquakes

GeoNet: Frequency of Earthquakes in New Zealand

New  Zealand Active Volcanoes
GNS: New Zealand Active Volcanoes

Science Learning Hub: Active Volcanoes of New Zealand

Stuff.co: White Island Eruption - Just How Active are New Zealand's Volcanoes?

Evidence Scientists Use to Determine How NZ's Tectonic Plates are Moving
Thought.co: Measuring Plate Motion in Plate Tectonics

NIWA (National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research):  On the lookout for tectonic faults and underwater landslides

Predicting Earthquakes
Predicting Earthquakes 

From Science Online database. By Gates, Alexander E. “Predicting Earthquakes.” Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes, Fourth Edition, 2015. From: www.online.infobase.com

Northeastern University: Would it have been possible to predict the NZ volcano eruption?

Risks Posed by Tectonic Activity to Humans and How They Are Measured

Science Daily: Seismic activity of New Zealand's alpine fault more complex than suspected

AIR Worldwide: Modeling Fundamentals: Understanding Tectonic Movement and How It Sheds Light on Seismic Risk

State of the Planet: Glacier Town at Risk in Next Great New Zealand Earthquake

Individual Volcanoes

Stuff.co: White Island eruption thought to be caused by natural buildup of gases

Smithsonian Global Volcanism Program: Whakaari/White Island

Stuff.co: Whakaari/White Island: Anatomy of a deadly eruption and the quest to save survivors

BBC World News: White Island: The privately owned New Zealand volcano that is always active

Tongariro National Park Volcanoes (Mount Ruapehu, Mount Ngauruhoe and Mount Tongariro)

Smithsonian Global Volcanism Program: Tongariro

Volcano Discovery: Tongariro Volcano

Harvard: Seismic tomography of the Tongariro Volcanic Centre, New Zealand
An academic article.

Individual Earthquakes
Te Ara - the New Zealand Encyclopedia - Historic Earthquakes

This website includes information on these earthquakes:

  • 2010 Canterbury (Darfield) earthquake
  • 2011 Christchurch earthquake
  • 2013/2016 Marlborough Earthquakes

New Zealand History: September 2010 Canterbury (Darfield) earthquake

Lessons from the Christchurch earthquake 

From UPI Space Daily, Washington, 13 November 2011, accessed via STEM database.

Earthquake in New Zealand 

Date: 2018. From: Gale Global Issues Online Collection database. Publisher: Gale, a Cengage Company