Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior: 11 & 12: Unit 1: Weapons and Warfare (IA3)

Weapons & Warfare

The Ancient Celts ebook 
Choose Chapter 9: Warfare and Society

The Celts 
Choose Chapter 4: Warfare.

Retrieved from Infobase database: https://online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=106249&itemid=WE30&articleId=369153 

General

CLASSICAL WRITERS WHO WROTE ABOUT THE CELTS

Cover ArteBook: Early Roman Warfare: from the Regal period to the first Punic War 

Publication Date: 2016

CLASSICAL WRITERS WHO WROTE ABOUT  ROME

Julius Caesar

Plutarch

Polybius

Frontinus

Cassius Dio

Livy (Titus Livius)

Dionysius

Vitruvius

Tacitus

Suetonius

Conduct a Google search - eg 'Julius Caesar writer Roman warfare'

Cover ArteBook: The Spartan Supremacy 412-371 BC 

At only one period in Sparta's long history, in the late fourth and early third century BC, did the home of these grim warriors seem set to entrench itself as the dominant power in the Greek world. This period includes the latter stages of the Peloponnesian War from 412 BC to the Spartan victory in 402, and then down to the Spartan defeat by the Thebans at Leuctra in 371 BC, where it all began to unravel for the Spartan Empirern

Cover ArteBook: Sparta - Rise of a Warrior Nation 

Publication Date: 2017

Philip Matyszak explores two themes: how Sparta came to be the unique society it was, and the rise of the city from a Peloponnesian village to the military superpower of Greece. But above all, his focus is on the Spartan hoplite, the archetypal Greek warrior who was respected and feared throughout Greece in his own day, and who has since become a legend.

​​​​​​​Cover ArteBook: Sparta - Fall of a Warrior Nation 

Publication Date: 2018

Universally admired in 479 BC, the Spartans were masters of the Greek world by 402 BC, only for their state to collapse in the next generation. What went wrong? Was the fall of Sparta inevitable? Philip Matyszak examines the political blunders and failures of leadership which combined with unresolved social issues to bring down the nation - even as its warriors remained invincible on the battlefield.

CLASSICAL WRITERS WHO WROTE ABOUT SPARTA

Alcman and Tyrtaeus

Plutarch

Pausanius

Thucydides

Herodotus

Xenophon

Aristotle

Conduct a Google search - eg 'Herodotus and Sparta'.

Cover ArteBook: The Persians: Lost Civilizations 

Weapons included Sagaris, Spear (Persian), Bow and Arrow (Persian), Chariot Scythe

CLASSICAL WRITERS WHO WROTE ABOUT PERSIA

Herodotus

Thucydides

Conduct a Google search eg 'Herodotus and Persia'.

    eBook: Chinese Empires (Qin&Han

Choose the excellent Chapter 2: 'A State Organised for War'.

    eBook: The First Emperor, Qin 

War and carnage have filled the pages of Chinese history and clearly emerged as the required foundation for establishment of almost every major dynasty in Chinese history. There were hundreds of different types of cold weapons in ancient Chinese battlefields, with the most commonly used including bow, crossbow, sword , broad knife, spear, speargun, cudgel, battleaxe, battle spade, halberd, lance, whip, blunt sword, hammer, fork 

CLASSICAL WRITERS WHO WROTE ABOUT ANCIENT CHINA

Also look for Sima Qian (Han Dynasty)

Confucius

Cover ArteBook: The Art of the Catapult by William Gurstelle 

Cover ArtA soldier's life in Ancient Greece by Fiona Corbridge - Call Number: 355.00938 COR

History Skills: IOP CAM Source Analysis and Evaluation Skills

undefined

undefined

QUT C.R.A.A.P. Test for Evaluating Websites

Check the quality of your websites using these criteria (adapted from QUT Library):

Currency: Timeliness of the information

  • When was the information published, posted or last updated?
  • Is the information current for your topic and field of study? How recent does it have to be? Can older sources work just as well?
Relevance: Importance of the information for your needs
  • Is the information appropriate for a senior secondary course?
  • Is this an adequately in-depth examination or a quick summary of the topic?
  • Who's the intended audience? Is it the general public, a student, a researcher or industry?
  • Is the level of information too basic or too advanced for your needs?

Authority: Source of the information

  • Is the author/authoring body (individual person, or institution, or organisation) established and reputable?
  • Are their qualifications, credentials, expertise, experience, educational background and previous work (if any) relevant and do they add credibility to the source?
  • Has the piece been published by a well-known and respected publisher or organisation?
  • Do references to other sources support the writing ie is a Bibliography or Reference List provided?

Accuracy: Reliability and correctness of the information

  • Where does the information come from, and is it supported by evidence?
  • Does it have a Reference List or Bibliography so you can easily find and verify the sources used?
  • Are there any spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose: Reason the information exists

  • What is the purpose of the information? Why was it written?
  • Does the point of view appear objective, unbiased and impartial?
  • Is the viewpoint of the author's affiliation/ sponsors reflected in the message or content?
  • Does the author acknowledge alternative versions of the issues or facts?

ONESearch

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Library can now be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Better Use of Google

Google Books can be very frustrating because often much of the book is missing and you are expected to purchase it to read the full content. So after you put in your search term you are interested in (eg biodiesel), and get some results up,  you should then go immediately to the search box (on the left - above 'About this box') undefined and type in a particular word or term you are interested in (eg CO2 emissions OR methanol) you should get a number of pages pop up. Choose one that looks useful - you should get some good results this way!

MyBib Referencing Generator

Manage your bibliography using "MyBib" - Referencing - LibGuides at  Melbourne High School

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.

Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.

How to Write A List of References (End-Text References) Using the CiteAce Program

Advanced Web Searching Tips

1. Use 'Ctrl F' (Control + Find) to search for particular terms easily in a long document, whether from a website or a database article.

2.  Use a Boolean command - put double inverted commas around phrases to limit and improve your results eg "energy drinks problems".

3. Use filetype:pdf to search in Google for only pdf articles - "plastic pollution" filetype:pdf - will force Google to return results on plastic pollution which are only pdf articles (PDFs are great sources sometimes deeply buried in Google results and remain unseen).

4. Use a Google domain command eg site:edu OR site:gov to limit results to a CERTAIN DOMAIN such as education or government eg biodiesel site:edu

5.  To check the authority of a website when it is not clear who the author / authority is, go to the end of the URL in the Google search box, cut back to the first forward slash (/) and hit 'Enter'. This will take you to the Home Page of the website, and you can see the full name of the source.

6. Use a Google command to limit results to the MOST RECENT: After you get your results, choose the Google Menu Bar, and choose 'Tools'. Then on the far left, at the drop-down menu next to 'Any Time', you can choose 'Within the last year' (or less, if you prefer), but generally, you can choose 'Custom Range' at the bottom, as often the last 3 years would be sufficient for a recent search.

How to Write In-Text References for Humanities

Referencing for the Classics of Literature

undefined

Research Template