Skip to main content

Year 11: Term 1: Natural beings

Read This Article First!

Useful Websites

General
Scientific American: Artists and Scientists - More Alike Than Different

Forbes: Why Art and Science are More Closely Related Than You Think

Quora: Do Artists and Scientists Share Any Values in Common? If So, What Are They?

What Do Artists and Scientists Have in Common?

The Art of Education: 11 Fascinating Artists Inspired by Science

Wikipaintings

Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance
Artchive: Leonardo
Scroll down on the left to 'Leonardo'

EyeconArt : Leonardo's Paintings

EyeconArt: Innovations and Artists of the Italian Renaissance

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Leonardo

Dutch Landscape Painting
Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Albert Cuyp

Artcyclopedia: Albert Cuyp

National Gallery: Albert Cuyp

WebMuseum: Cuyp

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Jacob van Ruisdael

Artcyclopedia: Van Ruisdael

Turner and the Romantic Movement
Art Education: Romanticism

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: JMW Turner

Knowledge Rush: JMW Turner

Artcyclopedia: Turner

Knowledge Rush: Romantic Movement

Turner: Artist, Painter of Light

Impressionism and the phenomenon of light
Art Education: Impressionism

Eyeconart: Impressionism

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Claude Monet

Artcyclopedia: Monet

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Pierre-Auguste Renoir

Australian Colonial Art
Australia's Culture Portal: Australia's Painters

Artists' Footsteps: Eugene von Guerard

John Glover Society

ABC: John Glover Exhibition

Australian Impressionism
Princeton University: Australian Impressionism

The Blurb: Australian Impressionism

Waltzing Matilda: Australian Impressionists

Australian Dictionary of Biography: Arthur Streeton

Artcyclopedia: Arthur Streeton

Worldwide Art Resources: Arthur Streeton

Dictionary of Australian Artists: John Peter Russell

Surrealism
Art Education: Surrealism

Eyeconart: Surrealism

Artcyclopedia: Surrealism

Artcyclopedia: Salvador Dali

Artcyclopedia: Rene Magritte

Pollock and the Abstract Expressionists
Art Education: Abstract Expressionism

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Jackson Pollock

Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Abstract Expressionism

Artcyclopedia: Abstract Expressionism

Artcyclopedia: Jackson Pollock

Eyeconart: Abstract Expressionism and Pop Art

Damien Hirst
Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art: Damien Hirst

Artcyclopedia: Damien Hirst

Artchive: Damien Hirst

Telegraph: Damien Hirst

Haber Arts: Damien Hirst

The Arts Desk: Damien Hirst

More Useful Websites

Andy Goldsworthy
Artcyclopedia: Andy Goldsworthy

Squidoo: Andy Goldsworthy

NY Times: Andy Goldsworthy

The Guardian: Andy Goldsworthy

Morning Earth: Andy Goldsworthy

Empty Easel: Andy Goldsworthy

Louise Bourgeois
Artcyclopedia: Louise Bourgeois

Squidoo: Louise Bourgeois

NY Times: Louise Bourgeois

Telegraph: Louise Bourgeois

Haber's Art Reviews: Louise Bourgeois

NY Times: Louise Bourgeois

Review: Louise Bourgeois

John Wolseley
John Wolseley

Roslyn Oxley Gallery: John Wolseley

London Arts Group: John Wolseley

National Library of Australia: John Wolseley

Marion Borgelt
Dictionary of Australian Artists: Marion Borgelt

DominikMersch Gallery: Marion Borgelt

Sydney Morning Herald: Marion Borgelt

Emily Kngwarreye
Dictionary of Australian Artists: Emily Kngwarreye

Frieze Magazine: Emily Kngwarreye

Squidoo: Emily Kngwarreye

ArtBlart: Emily Kngwarreye

GraficoArts: Emily Kngwarreye

National Museum of Australia: Emily Kngwarreye

World Socialist Web Site: Emily Kngwarreye

Yuken Teruya
Asian Art Newspaper: Yuken Teruya

APT5: Yuken Teruya

Yuken Teruya Studio

Saatchi Gallery: Yuken Teruya

Paper Trees by Yuken Teruya

Bharti Kher
APT5: Bharti Kher

Galerie Perrotin: Bharti Kher

Hauser & Worth: Bharti Kher

Design Boom: Bindi Kher

Justine Cooper
APT5: Justine Cooper

Daneyal Mahmood Gallery: Justine Cooper

Carlton College: Justine Cooper

Nova Media: Justine Cooper

APT Artists at GOMA
APT9 Artists
Scroll down to 'Artists'


APT8 Artists

Peter Kogler
Peter Kogler Home Page

I Like This Art: Peter Kogler

James Turrell
National Gallery of Australia: James Turrell - A Retrospective

James Turrell Home Page

Ron Mueck
Ron Mueck

The White Review: Ron Mueck

The Age Entertainment: Ron Muec

Patricia Piccinini
Patricia Piccini Home Page

Roslyn Oxley Gallery: PatriciaPiccini Profile
Scroll to the bottom of the page for reviews of her work.

'Bioart'
Bioart: Is it art? Is it science? Is it the future?

The Ethical Claims of Bioart

Library Catalogue

Look here for books, eBooks, DVDs and websites.

Useful Databases

Referencing Art Pictures

Emily Kngwarreye Emu Woman 1988–89

National Museum Australia n.d.