Year 10: Term 1: Energy Drinks (Formative Assessment)

CLAIM FOR THIS TASK: 'The sale of energy drinks should be restricted to those above 15 years of age'. 

PART A: Description of key terms
(i) Define the terms given in your task sheet (The AccessScience database available below is perfect for this). 

(ii) Briefly describe the effect of EDs on three (3) body systems (1 paragraph, 40-60 words per system). (Check the suggested websites and databases for this task in the boxes on this page)

(iii)  NOW DEVELOP A SPECIFIC RESEARCH QUESTION FOR THIS TASK:  Eg 'Energy drinks have a positive/negative effect on the …….. system of the body'. (You might look at increased energy boost for sport,  mental health, risk-seeking behaviour, increased blood pressure, obesity, tooth erosion, adverse cardiovascular effects or kidney damage).

PART B: Processing and Analysing Data and Information
Interpret sufficient and relevant evidence to discuss your research question. Include evidence addressing both aspects of your question ie supporting AND not supporting the question), separated into sub-headings - 250-300 words

PART C:  Evaluating
(i) Evaluate 2 sources used in Part B for their Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy and Purpose. (SEE C.R.A.A.P test document and template below)

(ii) Suggest any improvements and extensions (any data missing; different research question?)

(III) Interpret the reasons in support of and against your research question. Apply these findings to the claim and provide a justified opinion on whether the claim should be support/not supported - 100-150 words

PART D:  Reference List  (See information on MyBib on this page)

Check the quality of your websites using these criteria (adapted from QUT Library):

Currency: Timeliness of the information

• When was the information published, posted or last updated?

• Is the information current for your topic and field of study? How recent does it have to be? Can older sources work just as well?

Relevance: Importance of the information for your needs

• Is the information appropriate for a senior secondary course?

• Is this an adequately in-depth examination or a quick summary of the topic?

• Who's the intended audience? Is it the general public, a student, a researcher or industry?

• Is the level of information too basic or too advanced for your needs?

Authority: Source of the information

• Is the author/authoring body (individual person, or institution, or organisation) established and reputable?

• Are their qualifications, credentials, expertise, experience, educational background and previous work (if any) relevant and do they add credibility to the source?

• Has the piece been published by a well-known and respected publisher or organisation?

• Do references to other sources support the writing ie is a Reference List provided?

Accuracy: Reliability and correctness of the information

• Where does the information come from, and is it supported by evidence?

• Does it have a Reference List or Bibliography so you can easily find and verify the sources used?

• Are there any spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose: Reason the information exists

• What is the purpose of the information? Why was it written?

• Does the point of view appear objective, unbiased and impartial?

• Is the viewpoint of the author's affiliation/ sponsors reflected in the message or content?

• Does the author acknowledge alternative versions of the issues or facts?

Purpose: Reason the information exists

• What is the purpose of the information? Why was it written?

• Does the point of view appear objective, unbiased and impartial?

Choose the sources you wish to evaluate. Save this document to your tablet, complete the evaluation of the sources (one per page) and print out to attach to the back of your assignment.

1. Use 'Ctrl F' (Control + Find) to search for particular terms easily in a long document, whether from a website or a database article.

2.  Use a Boolean command - put double inverted commas around phrases to limit and improve your results eg "energy drinks cardiovascular problems children". 

3. Use a Google domain command eg site:edu OR site:gov to limit results to a CERTAIN DOMAIN such as education or government eg biodiesel site:edu

4. Use a Google command to limit results to the MOST RECENT: After you get your results, choose the Google Menu Bar, and choose 'Tools'. Then on the far left, at the drop-down menu next to 'Any Time', you can choose 'Within the last year' (or less, if you prefer), but generally, you can choose 'Custom Range' at the bottom, as often the last 3-4 years would be sufficient for a recent search.

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Birtles Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

An American website that aggregates press releases and publishes lightly edited press releases about science

Breaks down the stories behind the most interesting news and photos on the Internet.

 
Search for news articles which come from trusted news outlets, such as the Associated Press (AP) and The Atlantic, and other sources chosen for use in the classroom.

Regarded as a 'porthole' site, SciTech Daily offers the best intelligent, informed science and technology coverage and analysis you can find on a daily basis, sourcing a huge range of great writers and excellent research institutes.

Gateway to the best Science news sources.

A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

The world’s largest biomedical library.

Web-based medical and health news service.

Google Scholar's searches are set to cover scholarly material more often than 'regular' Google. Google Scholar's searches are set to cover scholarly material more often than 'regular' Google. It can be frustrating, as much of an article or book is missing or by purchase only. Read the article below on the advantages an disadvantages of using it.

TIP: To get PDFs only, type in 'filetype:pdf'. It's great!

Advantages / Disadvantages of Google Scholar 

 Sort Link Group  

How to use Google Books

Google Books can be very frustrating because often much of the book is missing and you are expected to purchase it to read the full content. So after you put in your search term you are interested in (eg biodiesel), and get some results up,  you should then go immediately to the search box (on the left - above 'About this box')  and type in a particular word or term you are interested in (eg CO2 emissions OR methanol) you should get a number of pages pop up. Choose one that looks useful - you should get some good results this way!

• BuIletin of the National Research Centre: Is the consumption of energy drinks beneficial or detrimental to health: a comprehensive review

• NCBI: Health Effects of Energy Drinks on Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults

• News Medical Life Sciences: Are Energy Drinks Safe for Children?' 

• British Medical Journal: Sales of energy drinks to children to be banned

• Amino Acids: Caffeine-containing energy drink improves sprint performance during an international rugby sevens competition

Cardiovascular System

• AHA Journals: Energy Drinks Pose Worrisome Risks to Adolescents’ Cardiovascular Health

• Canadian Journal of Cardiology: Energy Drink Overconsumption in Adolescents - Implications for Arrhythmias and Other Cardiovascular Events

• NCBI: International Journal of Health Sciences: Energy Drink Consumption: Beneficial and Adverse Health Effects
  Scroll down to the heading  'Cardiovascular Effects'

• BFR: Children and adolescents - Excessive consumption of energy drinks Increases health risk for cardiovascular system

• Science Daily: Dangers of adolescent energy drink consumption for the heart - Cardiologists urge physicians, parents, educators to monitor adolescents' energy drink consumption more closely

• NCBI: The Effect of Acute Consumption of Energy Drinks on Blood Pressure, Heart Rate and Blood Glucose in the Group of Young Adults

• Walters Kluwer Health: Cardiovascular effects of energy drinks in the pediatric population 

• Energy drinks and their impact on the cardiovascular system (Accessed from STEM database).

• NCBI: Effects of energy drinks on the cardiovascular system

• Energy drinks and their impact on the cardiovascular system (Accessed from STEM database).

• MDPI Open Access Journals: Cardiovascular complications of energy drinks 

• Nature Journal: Cardiovascular complications from consumption of high energy drinks: recent evidence 

• Australian Genetic Heart Disease Registry: Beware of Energy Drinks

• Touro College and University System: Energy Drinks: Cardiovascular Effects and the Specific and the Specific Components Responsible​​​​

Circulatory System

• BMC Research Notes: Hypertension in a young boy: an energy drink effect

• WebMD: 1 energy drink might harm blood vessels 

• The American Heart Association: Energy drinks may provide jolt to heart, blood pressure

• NCBI: The Effect of Acute Consumption of Energy Drinks on Blood Pressure, Heart Rate and Blood Glucose in the Group of Young Adults

• Gulf Times: Energy drinks linked to heart, nerve and stomach problems 

• Medical News Today: It may only take one energy drink to harm your blood vessels

• Science Daily: Energy Drinks may pose risk for people with high blood pressure

• MedicalNet: Do Energy Drinks Affect Blood Vessels?

Digestive System

• Very Well Health: Energy drinks effect on kidneys and health

• Michigan Health Blog: Energy drinks, caffeine and your digestion 

• NCBI: Impact of an Energy Drink on the Structure of Stomach and Pancreas of Albino Rat: Can Omega-3 Provide a Protection?

• NCBI: Liver tox - clinical and research information on drug-induced liver injury

Endocrine System

• Endocrinology Adviser: Caffeinated Energy Drinks May Spike Insulin Levels in Teens

• News.com: Sugar-free energy drinks still cause spike in blood glucose and insulin, linked to diabetes, study finds

• Endocrine News: Energy Drinks Cause Blood Glucose, Insulin Levels to Spike and Hinder Blood Sugar Control in Teens

Skeletal System

• Angela Evanson: Are energy drinks ruining your teeth?

• PubMed: Influence of energy drinks on enamel erosion: In vitro study using different assessment techniques
  Analyses the influence on unborn children.

• American Journal of Clinical Nutrition: Association between long-term consumption of soft drinks and variables of bone modeling and remodeling in a sample of healthy German children and adolescents

• American Bone Health: Kids and Caffeine

• NCBI: Analysis of the Consumption of Caffeinated Energy Drinks among Polish Adolescents

• The Daily Jeffersonian: Caffeinated beverages risky choice for children

• MedicoRX Speciality: Caffeine and bone loss 

Urinary System

• Livestrong: Can energy drinks damage your kidneys?

• Livestrong: Frequent Urination & Energy Drinks

Central Nervous System

• Pub Med: Taurine, caffeine, and energy drinks: Reviewing the risks to the adolescent brain

• NCBI: Caffeine effects on the central nervous system and behavioral effects associated with caffeine consumption 

• Journal of Learning Disabilities: The effects of caffeine on hyperactive children 

• Journal of Psychopharmacology: Effects of acute and chronic caffeine on risk-taking behavior in children and adolescents 

• Effects of Applied Behaviour Analysis: Effects of caffeine on classroom behaviour, sustained attention, and memory task in preschool children  (Accessed from JSTOR database).

• Nutrition and Dietitics: Energy drink consumption is associated with reduced sleep quality among college students: a cross-sectional study (Accessed from Gale database)

• Nutrition Journal: Energy drink consumption among Australian adolescents associated with a cluster of unhealthy dietary behaviours and short sleep duration

• NCBI: International Journal of Health Sciences: Energy Drink Consumption: Beneficial and Adverse Health Effects
  Scroll down to the heading  'Neurological and Psychological Effects'

MyBib is an online referencing generator to help you with in text references and your List of References.

NOTE: 

• Sign up for an account so that it will store the references for your assignment. Add it to your bookmark bar to find it quickly.

• Install the Chrome extension to make your referencing even faster.

• Make sure everything in your Reference List has a corresponding In-Text citation in the body of your essay.

Shows exactly how to reference your in-text graphic sources ieTables OR Figures (Diagrams, Graphs, Charts, Photos, Pictures). Just follow either the example for Websites, or the example for Journal Articles.