Skip to main content

Brisbane Boys' College Library : Data Sets

Welcome to Brisbane Boys' College Libraries, places for learning, reading, sharing, discussing and creating.Guide created by Jennifer King @ BBC

Data Sets

Amazon Web Services

Browse Amazon Web Services' Public Data Sets by category for a huge wealth of information. Search NASA's satellite images of Earth and climate projections.

Australian Bureau of Statistics

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABA) is Australia's national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.

 

BioInteractive

Search the Howard Hughes Medical Institute's Data points for your topic.

CSIRO Data Portal

This portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.

Geographic Information Systems - Data for the World

This is Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Libraries curated list of geographic information systems comprising data from all around the world.

Geoscience Australia: Data and Publications Search

An agency of the Australian Government. It carries out geoscientific research, and is the government's technical adviser on all aspects of geoscience, and is also custodian of the geographic and geological data and knowledge of the nation.

Nordpil

Nordpil provide maps, charts and other geographic data.

Queensland Brain Institute


 

An Australian neuroscience research institute.

Scientific Data


Scientific data repositories included on this page have been evaluated to ensure that they meet requirements for data access, preservation and stability. Please be aware, however, that some repositories on this page may only accept data from those funded by specific sources, or may charge for hosting data.

University of Auckland: Statistics and Numeric Data NZ

New Zealand and International statistics and numeric data

The World Bank: Databank

This is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts and maps; and easily save, embed and share them. Watch the tutorial and read the FAQs.

arXiv.org

Provides scientific papers in the fields of in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.

Australian Data Archive

The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. ADA disseminates this data for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.

 For research and citation assistance: 

Brown University Library Biomedical and Life Sciences Data

A collection of Data Sets on Biomedical and Life Sciences curated by Brown University Library (USA).

Column Five

Access to over 100 free data sources, such as infographics, from reputable organisations. Organised by categories: General/Academic, Content Marketing, Crime, Drugs, Education, Entertainment, Environmental/Weather, Financial/Economic, Government/World, Health, Human Rights, Labour/Employment, Politics, Social, Travel/Transportation,

 

Google Public Data

The Google Public Data Explorer makes large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate.

 

 

Google Finance

Google Finance provides you with up-to-date stock market data, market news, and data on emerging trends. You can also create a portfolio and manage your own stocks with the financial data provided. You can even navigate up to 40 years’ worth of stock market information and prices.

Internet Archive


The internet Archive is a digital library that provides free access to digital versions of web pages, books and texts, audio recordings, videos, and images.

National Centers for Environmental Information


NCEI (U.S.) is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available. 

UNICEF Data

This website is a gateway to reliable and open data and analysis on the situation of children and women worldwide

The World Bank: Global Developmental Data

The World Development indicators is a compilation of high-quality and internationally comparable statistics about global development. The database contains data for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups. Can be browsed by country.

World Bank: Gender Data Portal

The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.

Atlas of Living Australia

 

A collaborative, national project that aggregates biodiversity data from multiple sources and makes it freely available and usable online. It includes occurrence records, environmental data, images and the conservation status of species, and comes from data sets provided by collecting institutions, individual collectors and community groups.

Australian Government Data Sets

Most of the data available is free of charge and can be visualised using the in-built mapping tools. Individuals and organisations are encouraged to use the data on this site for research, study or applications that add value to the global community. In addition to open datasets, data.gov.au now includes information about unpublished data and data available for purchase. Contact the Library if the data you wish to access is not free.

 

Bureau of Meteorology: Climate Data

Use the Text or Map search to view daily and monthly statistics, historical weather observations, rainfall, temperature and solar tables, graphs and data.

Bureau of Meteorology: Climate Change Data Sets

These include bservational datasets that are not only good quality, but also homogenous through time; that is, where all observed climate variations are due to behaviour of the atmosphere, not other influences, such as changes in location, exposure of the observation site, instrumentation type or measuring procedure.  

Gapminder

Gapminder produces free resources making the world understandable based on reliable statistics. They collaborate with universities, UN, public agencies and non-governmental organisations.

HILDA Survey

From the Melbourne Institute. The Household, Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia (HILDA) Survey is a household-based panel study that collects valuable information about economic and personal well-being, labour market dynamics and family life.

Queensland Government Data Sets

Search over 2,600 data sets held by the Queensland Government

SEDAC (Socioeconomic Data and Applications Centre)

 

SEDAC provides data focused on human interactions in the environment. Its mission is to "develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences".

World Health Organisation (WHO) Health Data

WHO's Global Health Observatory (GHO) - access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation and themes ranging from health systems to disease-specific themes, as well as direct access to the full database.


WHO's Global Health Estimate (GHE) - provide a comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors. Global, regional and country estimates for all-cause mortality, and deaths and disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) by age, sex and cause, are available for download.


WHO Mortality Database - Database of annual death registration data on causes of death by age and sex as reported from civil registration systems of more than 100 Member States.