Brisbane Boys' College Library: Research: Databases and Newspapers

Database Information

Welcome to one of the best collection of databases for schools! While on campus, you are able to access these databases directly via the link behind the image.

When you are away from the campus you will need to login using the appropriate username and password - these were sent to you in an email from Ms King which you should have saved in an easily accessible place.

General Databases

Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window

General Academic Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Informit This link opens in a new window

History Databases

Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

ONESearch Database Explorer

The ENTIRE collection of resources provided by the BBC Birtles Library can be searched on ONE single, powerful search platform, which retrieves print books, eBooks, database articles and websites. Click HERE for assistance.

Australian Newspapers

1. 'NEWSSTREAM' NEWSPAPER DATABASE
Provides access to ALL Australian newspapers.

Newsstream Newspapers ( no passwords needed on campus; available from home with passwords) This link opens in a new window
Newsstream offers access to leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers, combining content from News Limited (including The Australian, The Courier-Mail and many Australian regional newspapers); Fairfax Australia and Fairfax New Zealand (including Sydney Morning Herald and Melbourne Age), the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and AAP Newswire. Password available for home access.

2. NEWS CORP NEWSPAPERS
These are accessible on campus only. To read the replica form of most of these newspapers, click on the top bar to 'Read the paper' (DO NOT TRY TO LOGIN)

(Sydney)

(Melbourne)

(Adelaide)

(Hobart)

3. NINE NEWSPAPERS (PREVIOUSLY FAIRFAX)

Sydney Morning Herald

The Age (Melbourne)

Australian Financial Review

Science

Science Databases

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
STEM Database This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
TWIG This link opens in a new window

Science Journals

Cosmos This link opens in a new window
Science News This link opens in a new window

Current Issues Databases

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Australia/New Zealand Points of View This link opens in a new window
Australian content provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. It includes critical analysis, broad range of topics and a balance of materials from all viewpoints.

Magazines

Choice This link opens in a new window

Economics Databases

IBISWorld (accessible on campus and at home - both via logins) This link opens in a new window Has research on over 500 Australian Industries, including statistics, analysis and forecasts.

Note: Logins are needed both at home and on campus.